Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

40v vs 56v Hedge Trimmer: Which One Should You Buy?

A 40v vs 56v hedge trimmer choice comes down to blade length, cut capacity, runtime and box contents, not voltage alone.

40v vs 56v Hedge Trimmer: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Worx 40V 15 Inch Cordless String TrimmerWorx 40V 15 Inch Cordless String Trimmer9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2EGO Power+ HT2600 56V 26 in Cordless Hedge TrimmerEGO Power+ HT2600 56V 26 in Cordless Hedge Trimmer9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3EGO Power+ 56V 26-Inch Cordless Hedge TrimmerEGO Power+ 56V 26-Inch Cordless Hedge Trimmer9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4EGO HTA2020 20-Inch Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment forEGO HTA2020 20-Inch Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment forView on Amazon
  5. 5BLACK+DECKER Electric Hedge TrimmerBLACK+DECKER Electric Hedge TrimmerView on Amazon
  6. 6Dewalt Trimmer Hedge Bare 20V DCHT820BDewalt Trimmer Hedge Bare 20V DCHT820BView on Amazon
  7. 7Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1View on Amazon
  8. 8BLACK+DECKER 22" Electric Hedge TrimmerBLACK+DECKER 22" Electric Hedge TrimmerView on Amazon
  9. 9SUNSEEKER 16" Hedge Trimmer Attachment UniversalSUNSEEKER 16" Hedge Trimmer Attachment UniversalView on Amazon

A hedge that has grown shaggy over the season needs a straight top and clean sides, and the tool for that work should feel steady in the hand and cut without dragging. The question in this guide is the 40v vs 56v hedge trimmer choice: whether the higher voltage class is needed, or whether a lower voltage trimmer already covers the hedges on a property. The short answer is that voltage alone does not decide the job. Blade length, cut capacity, runtime and what comes in the box matter just as much, and the listings covered below show why a 40V trimmer can be the practical pick for ordinary hedge work.

Other machines to compare

AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

40v vs 56v hedge trimmer: what voltage changes

Voltage is the nominal battery voltage a cordless trimmer runs on, not the whole battery platform, which also depends on the brand system. A higher voltage class does not by itself mean a larger motor or heavier cutting work, so the listing still has to state the figures that decide a purchase: blade length, cut capacity, runtime and battery inclusion. Without those figures, voltage is only a label, and two trimmers in the same voltage class can still differ in blade length, cut capacity, runtime and box contents.

That point matters here because every listing covered in this guide is a 40V listing. No 56V runtime, blade length or cut capacity figure is stated in the data for this guide, so this guide does not invent one. Instead, it compares the 40V listings on their stated specs and sets out what to check when a 56V listing is considered: blade length, cut capacity, runtime and box contents, read from that listing.

Question What to check Why it matters
Voltage class The battery platform and whether other tools share it A shared platform can simplify spares and charging
Blade length The listed blade length A longer blade covers more hedge in each pass
Cut capacity The largest branch thickness the listing states Thick stems need a stated capacity, not a guess
Runtime The stated minutes on a stated battery Runtime sets how much hedge gets cut per charge
Box contents Whether a battery and charger are included A tool-only listing needs a battery bought separately

For a wider look at cordless options, see the cordless hedge trimmer picks and the hedge trimmer sizes guide, which covers blade length and reach in more detail.

Blade length and cut capacity

Blade length is the most visible difference among the listings here. The Greenworks listing states 26 in. steel blades with a 1 in. cut capacity, and the maker lists a debris collector that sweeps clippings away while cutting for a cleaner finish. The WORX listing also states a 26 in. blade, with dual-action blades made from steel that cut on the forward and back stroke, but the listing does not state a branch thickness, so its cut capacity is Not stated. The BLACK+DECKER listing states a 24 in. dual-action blade for cutting branches up to 3/4 in. thick.

For ordinary hedge shaping, blade length affects how many passes a long hedge needs, while cut capacity affects whether thicker stems are within the stated capacity. Read both figures together, and treat a missing figure as Not stated rather than filling it in from another listing.

Runtime and batteries

Runtime is stated for two of the three listings, and the battery story differs for each. The Greenworks listing states up to 60 minutes of run time with a fully charged 2.0 Ah battery, and its title lists a battery and charger in the box. The BLACK+DECKER listing also states up to 60 minutes of runtime, but its title makes clear that it is tool only, with the battery not included, so that runtime depends on a battery bought separately. The WORX listing takes a different route: it is powered by two 20V batteries for 40V of total power, and the box includes two batteries and a charger, but the listing does not state a runtime figure, so its runtime is Not stated.

The practical lesson is to check runtime and box contents as a pair. A stated runtime without an included battery is not the same as a stated runtime with a battery and charger in the box. The WORX PowerShare point is also worth noting: the listing states that its battery platform is compatible with WORX 20V and 40V tools, outdoor power and lifestyle products.

The gear: 40V listings ranked

Greenworks 40V 26 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer. This listing ranks first on its stated specs. It combines a 26 in. blade, a 1 in. cut capacity, brushless power that the listing says boosts torque and motor life, a debris collector, a rotating rear handle for cutting vertically, a three-sided wrap-around auxiliary handle and a cushioned overmold grip. Its stated runtime of up to 60 minutes on a 2.0 Ah battery, with a battery and charger listed in the title, gives it the fullest stated runtime and capacity picture of the three, since it is the only listing here with both a stated runtime on an included battery and a stated cut capacity. The listing does not state a warranty term, so its warranty is Not stated.

WORX 40V 26 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer. This listing ranks second. Its dual-action steel blades, 180-degree rotating handle, full wrap handle and two-battery kit give it a strong cutting and handling story, and the PowerShare compatibility adds platform value. It falls behind the Greenworks listing because its cut capacity and runtime are both Not stated, even though the kit includes a safety guard and blade sheath.

BLACK+DECKER 40V MAX 24 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer. This listing ranks third. Its POWERDRIVE transmission is listed as providing increased torque, its wraparound handle and full-length trigger give a steady grip in any orientation, and it is the only listing here with a stated warranty term, a 2-year manufacturer warranty. It ranks behind the other two because its blade is shorter at 24 in., its stated capacity of 3/4 in. is smaller than the Greenworks listing’s 1 in., while the WORX listing states no capacity to compare against, and it is tool only, so its stated runtime is not tied to a battery in the box, since no battery capacity is stated for the separate purchase.

Handles and comfort

Handle design matters on a long hedge because the trimmer is held at many angles. The Greenworks listing offers a rotating rear handle for improved ergonomics when cutting vertically, plus a wrap-around auxiliary handle and a cushioned grip. The WORX listing offers a full wrap handle that can be grasped from any place, so the hand can move to a comfortable spot on the handle for a different cutting angle. The BLACK+DECKER listing offers a wraparound handle and a full-length trigger for a steady grip in any orientation.

Safety

Wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy shoes. Clear sticks, stones and other debris from the hedge and the ground before cutting, and keep children, pets and bystanders away from the work area. Point the blade away from people and parked cars, and follow the manual for battery charging and storage.

FAQ: mowing large lots

Is a 56V hedge trimmer always stronger than a 40V trimmer?

Not on voltage alone. Cutting ability for hedge work shows up in the listed cut capacity and motor description, while blade length affects reach and runtime affects how long a charge lasts, and those figures must be read from the listing being considered. The listings in this guide are all 40V, so no 56V figure is stated here to compare against.

What branch thickness can a 40V trimmer cut?

It depends on the listing. The Greenworks listing states a 1 in. cut capacity, the BLACK+DECKER listing states branches up to 3/4 in. thick, and the WORX listing does not state a branch thickness, so its cut capacity is Not stated.

How long does a 40V hedge trimmer run on a charge?

The Greenworks listing states up to 60 minutes with a fully charged 2.0 Ah battery, and the BLACK+DECKER listing states up to 60 minutes of runtime, with no battery included and no battery capacity stated. The WORX listing does not state a runtime figure, so its runtime is Not stated.

Does the trimmer come with a battery and charger?

Check the title and box contents for each listing. The Greenworks title lists a battery and charger, the WORX box includes two batteries and a charger, and the BLACK+DECKER listing is tool only, with the battery not included.

Which blade length suits a long hedge?

A longer blade covers more hedge in each pass, which helps on a long, straight hedge. The listings here offer 26 in. blades from Greenworks and WORX and a 24 in. blade from BLACK+DECKER, so the longer blades suit longer runs, and the shorter blade is the other length stated here. The corded vs cordless hedge trimmer guide covers the corded alternative for properties where a cord is practical.

More mowing guides

More buying guides