56v vs 80v Leaf Blower: Which One Should You Buy?
A 56V kit, a second 56V tool-only listing and an 80V bare tool compared on airflow, air speed and runtime, with a verdict on which voltage suits your property.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
EGO Power+ ST1502LB 56V 15 in Trimmer and 530 CFM Blower Combo9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Greenworks 80V 800 CFM Cordless Backpack Blower with Leaf Tarp9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
EGO Power+ LB6151 56V Cordless Leaf Blower Kit9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Sun Joe Corded Electric Leaf Blower MachineView on Amazon - 5
BLACK+DECKER Electric Leaf BlowerView on Amazon - 6
WORX 12 Amp Turbine Electric Leaf Blower for Daily LeafView on Amazon - 7
WORX Trivac 3-in-1 Electric Leaf Blower/Leaf Vacuum/LeafView on Amazon - 8
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Leaf BlowerView on Amazon - 9
BLACK+DECKER Leaf Blower Leaf Vacuum and Leaf Mulcher 3-in-1View on Amazon
This guide covers 56v vs 80v leaf blower. Verdict: Choose the 56V side for the ready-to-run kit in this comparison: the EGO example includes battery and charger, lists up to 90 minutes, and states a warranty. Choose the 80V side for the highest stated peak airflow in this comparison, if you already own the battery platform: the Greenworks example lists 700 CFM but sells as a bare tool.
After a windy week, leaves pile against fences, settle into beds and cover drives and walks. Clearing them by hand takes a long afternoon, and a blower turns that job into a walk around the property. The 56v vs 80v leaf blower question is which voltage platform fits that job: the lower voltage kit that arrives ready to run, or the higher voltage example that lists more peak airflow but needs a battery of its own.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
| # | Product | Acre Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EGO POWER+ 56V Cordless Leaf Blower | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Greenworks 80V Cordless Leaf Blower | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Echo eFORCE 56V Cordless Blower | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

EGO POWER+ 56V Cordless Leaf Blower
A 56V cordless leaf blower with a 5.0Ah battery and charger in the box, rated up to 650 CFM and 180 MPH, with a locking variable speed dial and tapered and spread nozzles.
Who it's for: property owners who want a ready-to-run cordless blower with a stated warranty and long stated runtime.
Who should skip it: anyone already on an 80V platform who wants the highest stated peak airflow here.
Read the full review
The LB6504 is the complete kit of the 3 examples: a 56V blower with a 5.0Ah battery and charger included, rated up to 650 CFM in turbo mode and up to 180 MPH, with a dial that locks from 225 to 470 CFM. The listing states up to 90 minutes of runtime, a brushless motor, turbine fan engineering and tapered and spread nozzles.
Pros
- Up to 650 CFM in turbo mode for wet leaves and caked-on grass
- Up to 90 minutes of runtime on the included 5.0Ah battery
- Variable speed dial with lock, from 225 to 470 CFM
- Battery and charger included, plus tapered and spread nozzles
Cons
- Dial range tops at 470 CFM; the 650 CFM peak needs turbo mode
- Charging the included battery takes 100 minutes
- No second battery in the box
- Noise level is not stated

Greenworks 80V Cordless Leaf Blower
An 80V cordless leaf blower rated 700 CFM and 170 MPH, sold as a bare tool with a brushless motor, variable speed trigger, cruise control and turbo mode.
Who it's for: owners already on the Greenworks 80V platform who want the highest stated airflow here.
Who should skip it: anyone who needs a battery and charger in the box, or a stated warranty term.
Read the full review
The Greenworks example is the 80V side: a bare tool rated 700 CFM and 170 MPH, with a brushless motor the listing calls more powerful than typical gas blowers, and a 27cc gas engine equivalent claim. The listing states up to 60 minutes on a fully charged 2.5Ah battery, sold separately, and a 45-minute rapid charge with a charger that is also sold separately.
Pros
- Highest stated peak airflow here at 700 CFM
- Brushless motor with variable speed trigger and cruise control
- Turbo mode for wet leaves and debris
- Quieter than gas at 74 dB, per the listing
Cons
- Battery and charger sold separately; runtime needs a 2.5Ah battery
- No warranty term stated in the listing data
- Weight is not stated
- 45-minute rapid charge claim assumes a charger not included

Echo eFORCE 56V Cordless Blower
A 56V cordless handheld blower listed as a tool-only model rated 158 MPH and 549 CFM in its title, with no runtime, weight or warranty stated.
Who it's for: an Echo owner who wants a second 56V blower body and can verify fit from the title and part number.
Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated runtime, weight or warranty first.
Read the full review
The DPB2500BT is the thin listing of the 3: its title states a 56V cordless handheld blower rated 158 MPH and 549 CFM, sold as a tool only, but its bullets read like a replacement-part page, asking the buyer to check the owners manual for the part number, and its spec table lists dimensions of 12.0 inches by 1.0 inches by 1.0 inches, which do not fit a handheld blower. Trust the title over the spec table here, and treat the airflow and speed figures as title-stated only.
Pros
- 549 CFM stated in the title
- 158 MPH stated in the title
- 56V cordless handheld format
- Tool-only format for a buyer who needs no extra battery or charger
Cons
- Bullets describe a replacement part, which leaves the listing unclear
- No runtime stated in the listing data
- No weight stated in the listing data
- No warranty term stated in the listing data
Other machines to compare
Sun Joe Corded Electric Leaf Blower MachineCheck price on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER Electric Leaf BlowerCheck price on Amazon
WORX 12 Amp Turbine Electric Leaf Blower for Daily LeafCheck price on Amazon
WORX Trivac 3-in-1 Electric Leaf Blower/Leaf Vacuum/LeafCheck price on Amazon
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Leaf BlowerCheck price on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER Leaf Blower Leaf Vacuum and Leaf Mulcher 3-in-1Check price on Amazon
56v vs 80v leaf blower side by side
| Factor | 56V (EGO LB6504) | 56V (Echo DPB2500BT) | 80V (Greenworks BL80L2515) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Voltage and battery | 56V, 5.0Ah battery and charger included | 56V, tool only | 80V, battery and charger sold separately |
| Airflow (stated) | Up to 650 CFM | 549 CFM (title) | 700 CFM |
| Air speed (stated) | Up to 180 MPH | 158 MPH (title) | 170 MPH |
| Runtime (stated) | Up to 90 minutes on the included battery | Not stated | Up to 60 minutes on a 2.5Ah battery, sold separately |
| Weight (stated) | 12.9 pounds | Not stated | Not stated |
| Controls | Variable speed dial with lock, turbo mode | Not stated | Variable speed trigger, cruise control, turbo mode |
| Warranty (stated) | 5-year tool, 3-year battery | Not stated | Not stated |
| In the box | Blower, battery, charger, tapered and spread nozzles | Tool only | Tool only |
Figures are manufacturer stated for the 3 example models, collected 2 November 2026.
Voltage and battery platform
Voltage names the battery platform; a model’s stated airflow and air speed describe its output. The 56V examples run on 56V batteries and the 80V example on 80V batteries, so a battery from one side does not power the other. In the box, the EGO 56V example includes a 5.0Ah battery and charger, while the Greenworks 80V and Echo 56V examples sell as tools only.
That split decides the first purchase. A buyer with no batteries needs the kit, or a battery and charger on top of a bare tool.
Airflow and air speed
Airflow moves the pile; air speed lifts stuck leaves. The Greenworks 80V example lists the highest peak airflow here at 700 CFM, ahead of the EGO 56V example at up to 650 CFM in turbo mode and the Echo 56V example at 549 CFM in its title. Air speed runs the other way: the EGO example lists up to 180 MPH, the Greenworks example 170 MPH, and the Echo example 158 MPH in its title.
Neither side wins both measures. The 80V example leads on airflow, the 56V EGO example on air speed, and the Echo example trails on both title figures.
Runtime and charging
Stated runtime differs between the two examples that state it, and so do their batteries. The EGO 56V example lists up to 90 minutes on its included 5.0Ah battery, with a 100-minute charge on the included charger. The Greenworks 80V example lists up to 60 minutes on a fully charged 2.5Ah battery, sold separately, with a 45-minute rapid charge claim tied to a charger that is also sold separately. The Echo example states no runtime at all.
Both examples that state variable speed let the operator drop below full power for light clearing: the EGO dial locks from 225 to 470 CFM, the Greenworks trigger offers variable speed with cruise control.
Weight and handling
Only the EGO example states a weight, at 12.9 pounds in its spec table, so weight cannot decide this comparison: the other two examples leave it unstated, and an unstated figure is not a win for either side. Stated handling differences are the controls: the EGO dial with a lock-on button, the Greenworks trigger with cruise control, and the EGO tapered and spread nozzles.
Eye and hearing protection and clearing debris from the path stay part of the job on either voltage.
The 3 examples
Acreage and terrain fit
EGO LB6504
Greenworks BL80L2515
Echo DPB2500BT
Matching It to Your Property
- For drives, walks and beds on flat ground with fences and trees, the EGO kit covers the job.
- For larger open ground where peak airflow matters, the Greenworks 80V example lists the highest airflow, provided a battery is already on hand.
- For a buyer who already owns Echo 56V gear, the Echo tool-only listing adds a second blower body, once fit is verified from the title.
- For storage, the EGO kit battery works with all EGO power tools.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance, build quality, value, safety and warranty. A factor the listing does not state scores zero, which is why all 3 examples score zero for safety and why only the EGO example scores for warranty.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO LB6504 | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 4 |
| Greenworks BL80L2515 | 9.3 | 28 | 19 | 15 | 0 | 0 |
| Echo DPB2500BT | 9.2 | 16 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Wear eye and hearing protection, long pants and sturdy footwear, and keep bystanders well back while the line or blade spins. Clear stones and debris first, and stop the engine or remove the battery before clearing the head. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See OSHA landscaping safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: mowing large lots
Is 80V always more powerful than 56V?
No. Voltage names the battery platform; compare the airflow and air speed of a given model. The 80V example lists 700 CFM against up to 650 CFM for the 56V EGO example, but the 56V example lists up to 180 MPH against 170 MPH for the 80V example.
Do I need to buy a battery with an 80V blower?
With the Greenworks example, yes: it sells as a tool only, and battery and charger are not included. The EGO 56V example includes a 5.0Ah battery and charger. Check the box contents before buying.
How long will a cordless blower run?
It depends on the battery and speed setting. The EGO example lists up to 90 minutes on its included 5.0Ah battery, and the Greenworks example lists up to 60 minutes on a 2.5Ah battery sold separately. The Echo example states no runtime.
What safety gear do I need for a leaf blower?
Eye protection and hearing protection, with debris cleared from the path before starting. Keep people and pets out of the work area while the blower runs.
Can a leaf blower clear wet leaves?
Both the EGO and Greenworks examples state a turbo mode for wet leaves: the EGO listing names it for wet leaves and caked-on grass, and the Greenworks listing names it for loosening wet leaves. The Echo listing states no turbo mode.
More mowing guides
- 20v vs 40v Leaf Blower: Which One Should You Buy?
- 40v vs 80v Leaf Blower: Which One Should You Buy?
- Backpack vs Handheld Leaf Blower: Which One Should You Buy?
- Best Cordless Leaf Blower for Large Yards (2026)
See our trimmers and blowers category for more clearing tools.



