Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Brushless vs Brushed Hedge Trimmer: Which One Should You Buy?

Brushless and brushed hedge trimmer motors compared, with blade size, cutting capacity, battery and safety from four cordless listings.

Brushless vs Brushed Hedge Trimmer: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Greenworks Pro 80V Cordless Brushless Backpack BlowerGreenworks Pro 80V Cordless Brushless Backpack Blower9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2ECHO HC-2020 20 in 21.2cc Gas Hedge TrimmerECHO HC-2020 20 in 21.2cc Gas Hedge Trimmer9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Greenworks 60V 16 in Cordless String TrimmerGreenworks 60V 16 in Cordless String Trimmer9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 422 in Cordless Hedge Trimmer 180° Rotatable Brushless22 in Cordless Hedge Trimmer 180° Rotatable BrushlessView on Amazon
  5. 5BLACK+DECKER Electric Hedge TrimmerBLACK+DECKER Electric Hedge TrimmerView on Amazon
  6. 6Dewalt Trimmer Hedge Bare 20V DCHT820BDewalt Trimmer Hedge Bare 20V DCHT820BView on Amazon
  7. 7Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1View on Amazon
  8. 8EGO HTA2020 20-Inch Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment forEGO HTA2020 20-Inch Carbon Fiber Hedge Trimmer Attachment forView on Amazon
  9. 9BLACK+DECKER 22" Electric Hedge TrimmerBLACK+DECKER 22" Electric Hedge TrimmerView on Amazon

In a brushless vs brushed hedge trimmer choice, these listings name no brushed model at all, so there is no head-to-head brushed comparison to verify here. The Greenworks listing claims more power, longer runtime and higher efficiency than brushed motors, and the DocSmart listing claims less friction and heat and longer motor life than brushed models, each as a maker claim. The other listings do not state a motor type at all. The rest of the choice turns on blade size, cutting capacity, battery and safety features, as stated per listing.

Other machines to compare

AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

Brushless vs brushed hedge trimmer: how the motors differ

Motor type What the listings state Limit
Brushless Greenworks claims more power, longer runtime and higher efficiency than brushed motors; DocSmart claims less friction and heat and longer motor life than brushed models Both brushless picks are battery kits, so runtime depends on the battery
Motor type not stated Speed, blade size and cutting capacity are stated, but the motor type is not named The buyer cannot verify the motor type from the listing

The Greenworks listing states that its brushless motor delivers more power, longer runtime and higher efficiency than brushed motors. The DocSmart listing states that its brushless design cuts friction and heat and extends motor life compared with brushed models. Each claim belongs to its own listing, not to brushless motors in general, and they are the only motor-type claims in the four listings. Neither the HEINPRO listing nor the RKBUDOL listing names its motor type, so this guide does not call either one brushed or brushless. When a listing does not state the motor type, judge it on the figures it does state: speed, blade size, cutting capacity, battery and safety features.

The gear: four cordless hedge trimmers, ranked

Greenworks 24V 20in Hedge Trimmer. Ranked at the top for the largest stated cutting capacity in this set, 1.1 inch, plus an included battery and charger: a brushless motor, 4000 SPM cutting speed, 20 inch dual-action steel blades and a 1.1 inch cutting capacity, with a debris collector that sweeps clippings away while cutting. Note that the Greenworks speed is stated in SPM and the DocSmart speed in RPM, so the two speed figures are not directly comparable. The kit includes a 2.0Ah battery and a 30W charger, with up to 65 minutes of trimming time and a full recharge in 110 minutes. A full wrap-around handle allows multi-position cutting, and a 2-step safety design prevents accidental blade engagement. One contradiction in this listing needs noting: the bullets state a weight of 8.46 lbs, while the spec table states 5.5 pounds. This guide trusts the bullets, as the brief directs, and uses 8.46 lbs.

DocSmart 22 inch Cordless Hedge Trimmer. A brushless trimmer with a 1200W motor reaching up to 3000RPM, 22 inch dual-action steel blades and a 2/3 inch cutting diameter for soft hedges. It includes 2 rechargeable 2000mAh batteries, each full charge taking 2 hours and delivering up to 100 minutes of continuous use, plus a plug-in charger and an LED charge indicator. The 180 degree rotatable head helps shape hedges in tight, hard-to-reach areas. Safety features stated are a safety lock, safety baffles, protective gloves, a non-slip handle and goggles. Weight is 5.15 lbs.

HEINPRO Cordless Hedge Trimmer. A cordless trimmer compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, with battery and charger not included. It states an enhanced motor at 1600 RPM no-load speed, 22 inch laser-cut dual-action 65Mn steel blades and a 3/5 inch cutting thickness for branches. Safety features stated are a dual safety switch, an electric brake that stops blades quickly when released, and a detachable blade guard for storage. Weight is 4 lbs without the battery, and the listing states a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty. The motor type is not stated, so rank it on its blade, safety and warranty figures rather than on motor claims.

RKBUDOL Cordless Hedge Trimmer. A cordless trimmer compatible with Milwaukee 18V batteries, with battery not included. It states a 22 inch dual-action steel blade, a 1600 RPM motor and a 0.63 inch cutting capacity, with a rear handle that rotates up to 180 degrees for vertical and horizontal trimming. A dual-switch operation system requires both switches to be engaged during use. No warranty term is stated and no motor type is stated, so it ranks last in this set on stated figures alone, even though its 22 inch blade and 1600 RPM speed match the HEINPRO trimmer, and its rotating rear handle serves the same angled-trimming purpose as the DocSmart trimmer’s rotatable head.

Blade size and cutting capacity

Blade size is close across the set: 22 inch blades on the DocSmart, HEINPRO and RKBUDOL trimmers, and a 20 inch blade on the Greenworks trimmer. Cutting capacity separates them more clearly. The Greenworks listing states 1.1 inch, the DocSmart listing states 2/3 inch for soft hedges, the HEINPRO listing states 3/5 inch for branches, and the RKBUDOL listing states 0.63 inch. For soft hedges and shrubs, the listings describe these capacities as covering everyday trimming, with the DocSmart listing noting soft hedges up to 2/3 inch and the RKBUDOL listing noting most everyday garden pruning tasks at 0.63 inch, while thicker branches need pruning shears first, as the DocSmart listing itself notes for thick branches and hardwood. See the Hedge Trimmer Sizes guide for blade length and reach.

Battery, runtime and charging

Battery systems differ, and battery inclusion matters. The Greenworks kit includes a 24V 2.0Ah battery and a 30W charger, with up to 65 minutes of trimming and a recharge in 110 minutes. The DocSmart kit includes 2 batteries of 2000mAh, each giving up to 100 minutes after a 2 hour charge, and it is compatible with Makita batteries at 21V or lower. The HEINPRO trimmer states that battery and charger are not included, and the RKBUDOL trimmer includes no battery and states no charger, so the buyer must already own a compatible DeWalt 20V MAX battery or a Milwaukee 18V battery. A trimmer with no battery in the box can still be the right pick for an owner who already owns that battery system, but it is not a complete kit on its own.

Safety features to check

Safety features are stated unevenly, so check them before buying. The DocSmart listing states a safety lock, safety baffles, protective gloves, a non-slip handle and goggles. The Greenworks listing states a 2-step safety design. The HEINPRO listing states a dual safety switch, an electric brake and a blade guard for storage. The RKBUDOL listing states a dual-switch operation system. In every case, keep hands, bystanders and pets clear of the blades, and wear eye protection while trimming.

Which motor type should you buy?

Buy a brushless pick when the listing states it and the rest of the figures fit the hedges: the Greenworks and DocSmart listings both state brushless motors with clear speed and capacity figures, and both include a battery and charger. That is a statement about these two listings, not a general rule about brushless motors. Buy on stated figures alone when the motor type is not stated: the HEINPRO trimmer offers an electric brake and a stated warranty, while the RKBUDOL trimmer offers a rotating rear handle for vertical and horizontal work. Do not pay for a motor claim a listing never makes, and do not assume a trimmer is brushed just because it never says brushless.

Safety

Wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy shoes. Clear sticks, stones and other debris before trimming, and keep children, pets and bystanders away from the work area. Point blades away from people and parked cars, and stop the trimmer before clearing a stuck branch. Follow the manual for charging and storage; the DocSmart listing states to use only the provided adapter and battery.

FAQ: mowing large lots

Is a brushless hedge trimmer better than a brushed one?

Not on the evidence in these listings: the Greenworks listing claims more power, longer runtime and higher efficiency than brushed motors, and the DocSmart listing claims less friction and heat and longer motor life than brushed models, but the listings here name no brushed model, so there is no stated brushed figure to compare against. Judge each trimmer on its own stated speed, capacity, battery and safety figures.

What cutting capacity do I need for a suburban hedge?

For soft hedges and shrubs, the capacities stated here cover everyday trimming: 1.1 inch on the Greenworks, 2/3 inch on the DocSmart, 3/5 inch on the HEINPRO and 0.63 inch on the RKBUDOL. For thicker branches, use pruning shears first, as the DocSmart listing advises.

Do these trimmers include a battery?

The Greenworks kit includes a 24V 2.0Ah battery and charger, and the DocSmart kit includes 2 batteries and a charger. The HEINPRO trimmer states that battery and charger are not included, and the RKBUDOL trimmer includes no battery and states no charger, and each needs a compatible battery from its stated system.

How long will a charge last?

The Greenworks listing states up to 65 minutes, and the DocSmart listing states up to 100 minutes per battery. The HEINPRO and RKBUDOL listings state no runtime figure, since neither includes a battery, so runtime depends on the battery the owner supplies.

What safety features should I look for?

Look for an accidental-start safeguard: the DocSmart listing states a safety lock, the Greenworks listing states a 2-step safety design, the HEINPRO listing states a dual safety switch, and the RKBUDOL listing states a dual-switch operation system. The HEINPRO listing adds an electric brake and a blade guard for storage, and the DocSmart listing states the fullest set, including gloves and goggles.

More mowing guides

Use the related guides above to compare battery systems and blade sizes before buying.

More buying guides