Noco Boost Gb40 vs Gb50: Which One Should You Buy?
Two NOCO lithium jump starters compared on peak power, starts per charge, engine coverage, recharge time and flashlight, with a verdict.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
NOCO Boost GB40 1000A Jump Starter9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
NOCO Boost GB50 1500A Jump Starter9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
NOCO Boost GB70 2000A UltraSafe Jump Starter9.7/10View on Amazon
Verdict: Choose the GB40 if the engines around the place are smaller and a lighter pack with a faster recharge matters more. Choose the GB50 if bigger engines need starting or more starts per charge matter more.
On a property where trucks, ATVs and mowers all need to start on a work morning, a dead battery stalls the whole routine, and the noco boost gb40 vs gb50 choice comes down to how much starting power those engines need. Both of these NOCO packs are 12V lithium jump starters with spark-proof and reverse polarity protection, a power bank, an LED flashlight and an IP65-rated housing. What separates them is peak power, starts per charge, engine coverage, recharge time, flashlight brightness and weight, and this comparison walks through each difference with one example of each side.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

NOCO Boost GB50 1500A Jump Starter
A 12V lithium jump starter with 1500A peak power, up to 30 starts per charge, coverage for engines up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel, a 200-lumen LED flashlight and an IP65-rated housing.
Read the full review
The GB50 example is a 12V lithium jump starter with 1500A peak power, up to 30 starts per charge, and coverage for engines up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel. The bullets state spark-proof and reverse polarity protection, an integrated power bank for smartphones and tablets, a 5 hour recharge, a 200-lumen LED flashlight with 7 light modes including SOS and strobe, a compact 2.7 lb form factor, and a rugged IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding. The box holds the jump starter, heavy-duty clamps, a USB-C charging cable and a microfiber storage bag, and the listing states a 1-year warranty.
The spec table lists 3.33 pounds, against 2.7 lb in the bullets, so go by the bullets here. Apart from that weight disagreement, the listing is consistent, and the box contents match the GB40 side exactly.
Pros
- 1500A peak power, the stronger of the two sides here
- Up to 30 starts per charge, against 20 on the GB40 side
- Covers engines up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel
- 200-lumen LED flashlight with 7 light modes, including SOS and strobe
Cons
- Recharges in 5 hours, against 3 hours on the GB40 side
- Heavier at 2.7 lb in the bullets, against 2.5 lb on the GB40 side
- Battery capacity in amp-hours is not stated
- Storage bag is microfiber, with no hard case stated

NOCO Boost GB40 1000A Jump Starter
A 12V lithium jump starter with 1000A peak power, up to 20 starts per charge, coverage for engines up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, a 100-lumen LED flashlight and an IP65-rated housing.
Read the full review
The GB40 example is a 12V lithium jump starter with 1000A peak power, up to 20 starts per charge, and coverage for engines up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel. The bullets state spark-proof and reverse polarity protection, an integrated power bank for smartphones and tablets, a 3 hour recharge, a 100-lumen LED flashlight with 7 light modes including SOS and strobe, a compact 2.5 lb form factor, and a rugged IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding. The box holds the jump starter, heavy-duty clamps, a USB-C charging cable and a microfiber storage bag, and the listing states a 1-year warranty.
The spec table lists 2.4 pounds, against 2.5 lb in the bullets, so go by the bullets here. Apart from that weight disagreement, the listing is consistent, and the box contents match the GB50 side exactly.
Pros
- Lighter at 2.5 lb in the bullets, against 2.7 lb on the GB50 side
- Recharges in 3 hours, against 5 hours on the GB50 side
- Spark-proof and reverse polarity protection with IP65-rated housing
- Power bank plus 100-lumen LED flashlight with 7 modes in a compact form factor
Cons
- 1000A peak power, against 1500A on the GB50 side
- Up to 20 starts per charge, against 30 on the GB50 side
- Covers engines up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, less than the GB50 side
- 100-lumen flashlight, against 200 lumens on the GB50 side
Side by side: noco boost gb40 vs gb50
| Factor | NOCO Boost GB40 | NOCO Boost GB50 | Takeaway |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peak power | 1000A | 1500A | GB50 side leads on stated peak power |
| Engine coverage | Up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel | Up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel | GB50 side covers bigger engines |
| Starts per charge | Up to 20 | Up to 30 | GB50 side lists more starts |
| Recharge time | 3 hours | 5 hours | GB40 side recharges faster |
| Flashlight | 100-lumen LED, 7 modes | 200-lumen LED, 7 modes | GB50 side is brighter |
| Weight (bullets) | 2.5 lb | 2.7 lb | GB40 side is lighter |
| Housing | IP65-rated, rubberized over-molding | IP65-rated, rubberized over-molding | Same housing stated on both sides |
| In the box | Jump starter, heavy-duty clamps, USB-C cable, microfiber bag | Jump starter, heavy-duty clamps, USB-C cable, microfiber bag | Same kit on both sides |
| Warranty | 1-year | 1-year | Same 1-year term on both sides |
Figures are manufacturer stated for the two example models, collected 29 October 2026. Weights are the bullet figures, since both spec tables disagree with their own bullets, as noted in the reviews below.
Peak power and engine size
Peak power is the headline gap between the two sides. The GB40 example lists 1000A of peak lithium power, while the GB50 example lists 1500A. Engine coverage follows the same pattern: the GB40 listing covers engines up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, and the GB50 listing covers engines up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel. If the engines around the place sit inside the GB40 coverage, the smaller pack covers the job on paper. If any engine sits above the GB40 coverage, the GB50 listing states coverage up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel. Both listings state peak power and engine coverage clearly, so the comparison is direct.
Starts per charge and recharge time
The GB50 example lists up to 30 starts per charge, against up to 20 starts per charge on the GB40 example. That gap matters on a property where several machines might need a jump before anyone gets to a charger, or where the pack rides in a truck box between jobs. Recharge time runs the other way: the GB40 example recharges in 3 hours, against 5 hours for the GB50 example. So the GB50 side lists more starts per charge, while the GB40 side is ready again sooner after a recharge. Both listings describe the pack as a portable power bank for smartphones, tablets and more, so either side doubles as emergency power away from the house.
Flashlight, power bank and housing
Both examples carry an integrated LED flashlight with 7 light modes, including SOS and strobe, and both describe the housing the same way: rugged IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding that protects against water, dust and impact. The brightness differs: the GB40 example lists a 100-lumen LED, and the GB50 example lists a 200-lumen LED. Both also state spark-proof and reverse polarity protection, and both include high-conductivity clamps for energy transfer. On housing, protection and clamps, the listings leave no gap between the sides; the flashlight is the only difference among the features covered in this section.
Size, weight and what is in the box
Both listings describe a compact form factor sized for glove boxes and emergency kits, and both ship the same kit: the jump starter, heavy-duty clamps, a USB-C charging cable and a microfiber storage bag. Weight is where the listings need care. The GB40 bullets state 2.5 lb while its spec table states 2.4 pounds, and the GB50 bullets state 2.7 lb while its spec table states 3.33 pounds. Go by the bullets in both cases. On the bullet figures, the GB40 side is the lighter pack, which suits a glove box or a kit that moves between machines.
The two examples
Acreage and terrain fit
NOCO Boost GB40
NOCO Boost GB50
Matching It to Your Property
- Keep the pack in a glove box or emergency kit, since both listings describe a compact form factor sized for exactly that storage.
- Lean on the IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding for shed or truck-box storage, where water, dust and impact are part of daily life.
- Use the power bank for phones and tablets during long days away from the house, since both listings state emergency power for those devices.
- Use the LED flashlight modes, including SOS and strobe, for low-light work around the property, since both listings state 7 light modes.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance, build quality, value, safety and warranty. A factor the listing does not state scores zero. Both examples state a 1-year warranty and both state spark-proof and reverse polarity protection with an IP65-rated housing, so both score on safety and warranty, and the gap between them sits in performance, where peak power, starts per charge and engine coverage differ.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOCO Boost GB50 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
| NOCO Boost GB40 | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Either pack earns its place in a property emergency kit; the choice turns mainly on engine size, starts per charge, recharge time and weight, since the box contents match. For more property upkeep gear, see the mower maintenance guides.
Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: mowing large lots
Which NOCO jump starter suits bigger engines?
The GB50 example, whose listing covers engines up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel, against up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel on the GB40 example. Match the engine to the listing coverage before buying.
How many starts does each pack give per charge?
The GB40 example lists up to 20 starts per charge, and the GB50 example lists up to 30 starts per charge. Both figures are manufacturer stated, and real starts depend on the engine and the battery state, which the listings do not detail.
How long does each pack take to recharge?
The GB40 example recharges in 3 hours, and the GB50 example recharges in 5 hours, as stated in the listings. The GB40 side is ready again sooner, while the GB50 side holds more starts per charge.
Do both packs protect against wrong connections?
Yes. Both listings state patented spark-proof and reverse polarity protection for connections to any 12V vehicle, with no sparks and no wrong connections, as the listings describe it.
Can these jump starters charge a phone?
Yes. Both listings describe an integrated power bank that delivers emergency power to smartphones, tablets and more, so either pack doubles as emergency phone power around the property.
More mowing guides
See the mower maintenance guides for keeping property equipment ready through the season.



