Oem vs Aftermarket Mower Blades: Which One Should You Buy?
Genuine OEM, OEM replacement and aftermarket mower blades compared by fit, dimensions and pack size, with the side labels checked against what each listing actually says.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Briggs and Stratton OEM 691035 Fuel Filter 2 Pack9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
UDC Parts 532187256 54 in High Lift Mower Blades9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Scag 21 Inch Genuine OEM Cutter Blade Set9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Ariens 6PK Genuine OEM 60" Gravely Pro-Turn Lawn Mower BladesView on Amazon - 5
ACEBRI High Lift Blades 54" for Cub Cadet Craftsman ZT1 RZTView on Amazon - 6
GICOOL 942-0741A 21 Inch Mower Mulching Blades for Troy BiltView on Amazon - 7
EGO POWER+ 21" Mulching Blades for Electric Lawn MowersView on Amazon - 8
54 inch Mower High Lift Blades for Husqvarna Z254F 532187256View on Amazon - 9
Grasscool ZT1 54 High Lift Blades for Cub Cadet 54 inch MowerView on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a genuine OEM blade if your mower calls for an exact part number and you want the part the maker lists for that deck. Choose an aftermarket replacement if your mower is a walk-behind and the listing names your model among the machines it replaces parts for.
The oem vs aftermarket mower blades question comes down to fit. A blade has to match the mower: the right length, the right center hole, and the right deck. This comparison covers the three examples in the listings reviewed here, checks the side labels against what each listing actually says, and states where a figure is missing or odd instead of awarding a win.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
| # | Product | Acre Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Scag 21 Inch Genuine OEM Cutter Blade Set | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Maxpower 60 Inch Cut 3 Blade Set | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Rotary 21 Inch Mulching Mower Blade | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Scag 21 Inch Genuine OEM Cutter Blade Set
A genuine OEM 3-pack of 21 inch cutter blades for a 61 inch deck, with a 5/8 inch center hole, a 2 1/2 inch width, and a .203 inch thickness.
Read the full review
The Scag example is the genuine OEM set here: three 21 inch cutter blades for a 61 inch deck, with a 2 1/2 inch width, a 5/8 inch center hole, and a .203 inch thickness, plus the part numbers the listing names. It is the only example here with length, width, hole and thickness all stated with units.
Pros
- Genuine OEM blades with part numbers stated
- Length, width, center hole and thickness all stated
- Three blades in the set for a 61 inch deck
- Part numbers listed for cross-checking fit
Cons
- No safety certification is stated
- No concrete warranty term is stated
- Spec table model number Hengulus does not match the stated part numbers
- Suits 61 inch decks, not smaller walk-behind mowers

Maxpower 60 Inch Cut 3 Blade Set
A USA made 3-blade set for 60 inch cut Exmark mowers, replacing OEM numbers, with 20-1/2 inch blades, a 2-1/2 inch width, and a 15/16 inch center hole.
Read the full review
The Maxpower example is the replacement set for Exmark mowers: three 20-1/2 inch blades for a 60 inch cut, with a 2-1/2 inch width and a 15/16 inch center hole. The listing says the blades are sharpened during manufacturing and powder coated, and the coating comes off during the first cut.
Pros
- USA made set of 3 blades
- Blades sharpened during manufacturing, per the listing
- Powder coated for protection before the first cut
- Fits many 60 inch cut Exmark models, per the listing
Cons
- No thickness figure is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- No concrete warranty term is stated
- Tagged as OEM but titled as a replacement for OEM numbers, not a genuine OEM part

Rotary 21 Inch Mulching Mower Blade
An aftermarket 21 inch mulching blade for AYP, Sears, Craftsman and Husqvarna walk-behind mowers, with a 5/8 inch center hole and a 2-1/4 inch width.
Read the full review
The Rotary example is the aftermarket mulching blade here: a 21 inch blade for walk-behind mowers, with a 2-1/4 inch width, a 5/8 inch center hole, 3/8 inch outside holes, and a 1-7/8 inch center-to-center spacing. Its listing names a long run of AYP, Sears, Craftsman and Husqvarna models and the OEM numbers it replaces.
Pros
- Long list of replaced OEM numbers stated
- Length, width, center hole and hole spacing all stated
- Mulching blade for 21 inch walk-behind mowers
- Fits AYP, Sears, Craftsman and Husqvarna models named in the listing
Cons
- Spec table weight of 0.01 ounces is not plausible for a steel blade
- Single blade in the pack, while the other examples hold 3 blades
- No safety certification is stated
- No concrete warranty term is stated
Other machines to compare
Ariens 6PK Genuine OEM 60" Gravely Pro-Turn Lawn Mower BladesCheck price on Amazon
ACEBRI High Lift Blades 54" for Cub Cadet Craftsman ZT1 RZTCheck price on Amazon
GICOOL 942-0741A 21 Inch Mower Mulching Blades for Troy BiltCheck price on Amazon
EGO POWER+ 21" Mulching Blades for Electric Lawn MowersCheck price on Amazon
54 inch Mower High Lift Blades for Husqvarna Z254F 532187256Check price on Amazon
Grasscool ZT1 54 High Lift Blades for Cub Cadet 54 inch MowerCheck price on Amazon
Oem vs aftermarket mower blades side by side
| Factor | Scag 482879 Set | Maxpower 561139B | Rotary 9810 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Side label | Genuine OEM | OEM replacement | Aftermarket |
| Mower fit | 61 inch deck | 60 inch cut Exmark | 21 inch walk-behind |
| Length | 21 inch | 20-1/2 inch | 21 inch |
| Width | 2 1/2 inch | 2-1/2 inch | 2-1/4 inch |
| Center hole | 5/8 inch | 15/16 inch | 5/8 inch |
| Thickness | .203 inch | Not stated | 0.1340 inch |
| Pack | 3-pack | 3 blades | 1 blade |
| Weight | 8.08 pounds | 5 pounds | 0.01 ounces, odd figure |
Figures are manufacturer stated for the three example models, collected 28 October 2026.
Genuine OEM or replacement: read the side label with care
Only one example here is labeled a genuine OEM part: the Scag example, titled as genuine OEM blades. The Maxpower example is tagged for the OEM side, but its title says it replaces OEM numbers, which makes it a replacement set rather than a genuine OEM part. The Rotary example is titled plainly as an aftermarket replacement. So the real split in these listings is one genuine OEM set against two replacements, not two OEM parts against one aftermarket part.
That distinction matters for fit. The Scag example lists its own part numbers, the Maxpower example lists the OEM numbers it replaces for Exmark mowers, and the Rotary example lists a long run of OEM numbers it replaces for AYP, Sears, Craftsman and Husqvarna machines. In each case, match the part number your mower calls for rather than trusting the side label alone.
Dimensions: length, width, hole and thickness
The three examples serve different machines, so their dimensions are not directly comparable as better or worse. The Scag example is a 21 inch blade for a 61 inch deck, with a 2 1/2 inch width, a 5/8 inch center hole, and a .203 inch thickness. The Maxpower example is a 20-1/2 inch blade for a 60 inch cut, with a 2-1/2 inch width and a 15/16 inch center hole, and it states no thickness. The Rotary example is a 21 inch mulching blade for walk-behind mowers, with a 2-1/4 inch width, a 5/8 inch center hole, a 1-7/8 inch center-to-center spacing, and 3/8 inch outside holes.
Thickness can be compared on two of the three examples. The Scag example states a .203 inch thickness against the Rotary example’s 0.1340 inch, so the Scag blade is the thicker of the two on the stated figures, while the Maxpower example states no thickness and cannot be ranked on thickness.
Pack size and weight
Pack size differs: the Scag example is a 3-pack, the Maxpower example is a set of 3 blades, and the Rotary example is a single blade. Weights are listed at 8.08 pounds for the Scag set and 5 pounds for the Maxpower set. Both sets hold 3 blades, but the blades differ in length and the Maxpower listing states no thickness, so weight alone does not rank one set above the other.
The Rotary weight figure should be ignored for comparison: its spec table lists 0.01 ounces, which is not a plausible weight for a steel mower blade. Treat that figure as an odd listing entry, not as evidence that the Rotary blade is lighter than the sets above.
The three examples
Acreage and terrain fit
Scag 482879 Set
Maxpower 561139B
Rotary 9810
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance (fit, dimensions and what the listing states), build quality (materials and finish the listing states), value (what the listing includes), safety (certifications or operator controls the listing states) and warranty (years and coverage). A factor the listing does not state scores zero, which is why all three examples score zero for safety and warranty. If you service the rest of the machine, see our mower maintenance guides.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scag 482879 Set | 9.6 | 29 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| Maxpower 561139B | 9.6 | 28 | 22 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| Rotary 9810 | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: mowing large lots
Is an aftermarket blade as good as an OEM blade?
These listings do not say. None of them states a cut quality comparison, and the examples serve different machines, so no side wins on quality from this evidence. Match the part number and the dimensions your mower calls for, and judge a replacement by whether it lists your machine among its fitments.
How do I know a blade fits my mower?
Check three things the listings state: the part number, the deck or cut size, and the center hole. The Scag example lists its part numbers for a 61 inch deck, the Maxpower example lists Exmark models for a 60 inch cut, and the Rotary example lists AYP, Sears, Craftsman and Husqvarna models for 21 inch walk-behind mowers. If your mower is not named, the listing does not establish fit.
What do the blade dimensions mean?
Length is the blade from tip to tip, width is the blade across its face, the center hole must match the spindle it mounts on, and thickness is the steel stock. The examples show why each figure matters: the Scag and Rotary examples share a 5/8 inch center hole, while the Maxpower example uses a 15/16 inch center hole, so hole size alone never settles fit.
Why does the Rotary weight figure look wrong?
Because it is an odd listing entry. The Rotary spec table lists 0.01 ounces, which is not a plausible weight for a steel mower blade, so this article ignores that figure for comparison rather than treating the Rotary blade as lighter than the sets above.
Do these blades come sharpened?
Only the Maxpower example states it: its blades are sharpened during manufacturing and then powder coated, and the listing says the coating comes off during the first cut to reveal a precision sharpened blade. The Scag and Rotary listings state nothing about sharpening, so no claim is made for them.




