Snow Pusher vs Shovel: Which One Should You Buy?
Snow pushers and shovels compared on pushing versus lifting, blade width, handles, weight and warranty, with examples of each side from the listings reviewed.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Garvee Heavy Duty Steel Snow Shovel Pusher with Wheels9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
TaskStar 40V Electric Snow Shovel9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
VEVOR Snow Pusher Shovel 30 Inches with Metal Edged Strip9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Yocada Snow Shovel for Driveway Home Garage Snow RemovalView on Amazon - 5
44" Snow Shovel for Car and DrivewayView on Amazon - 6
OCGIG Snow Shovel for Driveway Car Garage Home Snow RemovalView on Amazon - 7
Snowcaster 70SNC 36-inch Bi-Directional Wheeled Snow ShovelView on Amazon - 8
Suncast 20" Combination Snow Shovel/PusherView on Amazon - 9
Suncast 24" Combo Snow Shovel PusherView on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a snow pusher if the job is clearing a driveway or walk by pushing snow aside without lifting, especially on wide, flat ground. Choose a shovel if the snow has to be lifted and tossed, or carried to a pile, and an assist handle or a long adjustable handle matters.
A winter driveway sets the snow pusher vs shovel question: a flat run from the street to the garage, walks to the door, and snow that has to move before anyone leaves in the morning. A pusher slides snow aside without lifting it. A shovel lifts snow and tosses it to a pile. This comparison covers what separates the two tools, then the examples from the listings reviewed.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

Snow Joe Snow Shovel with 18-Inch Blade and Assist Handle
An 18-inch snow shovel with a spring-assisted handle that acts as a fulcrum, a D-ring grip and a heavy-duty blade, listed for ice removal.
Read the full review
The Snow Joe listing states an 18-inch blade, a spring-assisted handle that acts as a fulcrum and a D-ring grip designed for comfort, improved posture and less bending. The listing says the handle gives added leverage to the lower hand, so heavier loads lift with less effort. One contradiction needs flagging: the title lists 3.5 Lbs., while the spec table lists 3.6 Pounds. The title and bullets win over the spec table, so this article uses 3.5 Lbs.
Pros
- Spring-assisted handle acts as a fulcrum for added leverage
- D-ring grip designed for comfort and improved posture
- Heavy-duty, impact-resistant blade for tough jobs
- 2-year warranty stated in the spec table
Cons
- Title lists 3.5 Lbs. while the spec table lists 3.6 Pounds
- 18-inch blade is narrower than the pusher blades in this comparison
- No safety listing such as UL or ETL stated
- Lifting design, not a wide pushing blade

The Snowplow Original Snow Pusher 24 Inch
A 24-inch snow pusher with a virgin UHMW polyethylene blade, a patented TUFFBRACE handle connector and a metal handle, made in the USA.
Read the full review
The Snowplow listing states a 24-inch blade of virgin UHMW polyethylene, a patented TUFFBRACE handle and brace connector system and a metal handle the listing says has twice the wall thickness of industry snow shovels. The blade is self-sharpening with no need to sharpen, and the listing says snow slides off instead of sticking, with no lifting or scooping. The pusher is White, weighs 7.0 Pounds and measures 54.0 Inches x 48.0 Inches x 4.0 Inches, and the listing says it is made in the USA.
Pros
- Virgin UHMW blade lets snow slide off instead of sticking
- Self-sharpening blade with no need to sharpen
- Patented TUFFBRACE handle and brace connector system
- Metal handle the listing says has twice the wall thickness of industry snow shovels
Cons
- Limited warranty stated with no term given
- 7.0 Pounds, heavier than the Snow Joe example at 3.5 Lbs.
- No safety listing stated
- Push-only design, so lifted snow still needs a shovel

MARSHALLTOWN Polar Pusher 30 Inch Snow Pusher
A 30-inch snow pusher with a UHMW impact-resistant blade, a lightweight fiberglass handle and an angled D-grip, assembled in the USA.
Read the full review
The Marshalltown listing states a 30-inch blade of UHMW material that resists water, wear and impact, a lightweight fiberglass handle and an angled D-grip. The angled blade is listed as maximizing pushing force and control across driveways, sidewalks and decks, and the listing says the tool is assembled in the USA. The listing states no weight and no warranty term.
Pros
- 30-inch UHMW blade for wide passes
- Fiberglass handle keeps the tool lightweight
- Angled D-grip for pushing force and control
- Blade resists water, wear and impact
Cons
- No weight stated in the listing
- No warranty term stated in the listing
- No safety listing stated
- Push-only design, so lifted snow still needs a shovel

Yocada Snow Shovel 55 Inch with D-Grip Handle
A 55-inch snow shovel with a 16-inch plastic scoop, aluminum wear strips and a 3-pole handle that adjusts from 48inch to 55inch, with a D-grip.
Read the full review
The Yocada listing states a 55-inch shovel with a 16-inch wide plastic scoop, aluminum wear strips for hard snow and ice and an ergonomic D-grip handle. The handle uses 3 poles and adjusts from 48inch to 55inch, and the poles detach for storage. The listing says assembly needs greater strength to connect the poles: align the groove, press the silver ball, insert firmly and turn until a click sounds.
Pros
- 16-inch scoop with aluminum wear strips for hard snow and ice
- Handle adjusts from 48inch to 55inch across 3 poles
- Detachable poles for easy storage
- D-grip handle for comfort while shoveling
Cons
- Assembly needs greater strength to connect the poles
- No warranty term stated in the listing
- No safety listing stated
- Plastic scoop, not a UHMW blade like the pusher examples
Other machines to compare
Yocada Snow Shovel for Driveway Home Garage Snow RemovalCheck price on Amazon
44" Snow Shovel for Car and DrivewayCheck price on Amazon
OCGIG Snow Shovel for Driveway Car Garage Home Snow RemovalCheck price on Amazon
Snowcaster 70SNC 36-inch Bi-Directional Wheeled Snow ShovelCheck price on Amazon
Suncast 20" Combination Snow Shovel/PusherCheck price on Amazon
Suncast 24" Combo Snow Shovel PusherCheck price on Amazon
Snow pusher vs shovel side by side
| Factor | Snow pusher | Shovel | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blade width | 24 inches (Snowplow), 30 inches (Marshalltown) | 18-inch (Snow Joe), 16-inch (Yocada) | Widths are per listing, not per side |
| Blade material | UHMW on both pusher listings | Heavy-duty blade (Snow Joe); plastic scoop (Yocada) | Only the pusher listings state UHMW |
| Handle | Metal handle, TUFFBRACE connector (Snowplow); fiberglass handle, angled D-grip (Marshalltown) | Spring-assisted handle, D-ring grip (Snow Joe); 3-pole D-grip handle (Yocada) | Each handle belongs to its own listing |
| Dimensions | 54.0 Inches x 48.0 Inches x 4.0 Inches (Snowplow); 48.5 Inches x 30.0 inches x 5.0 inches (Marshalltown) | 50.0 inches x 18.0 Inches x 3.9 inches (Snow Joe); 55 inch length (Yocada) | Yocada listing states no full dimensions |
| Weight | 7.0 Pounds (Snowplow); Not stated (Marshalltown) | 3.5 Lbs. in the title, 3.6 Pounds in the spec table (Snow Joe); 3.41936968362 Pounds (Yocada) | Snow Joe title wins over its spec table |
| Push or lift | Push, no lifting or scooping (Snowplow); push across large areas (Marshalltown) | Lift with assist handle (Snow Joe); scoop and lift (Yocada) | Pushers push; shovels lift |
| Warranty | Limited warranty, no term stated (Snowplow); Not stated (Marshalltown) | 2 Years (Snow Joe); Not stated (Yocada) | Only the Snow Joe listing states a term |
| Surfaces | Concrete, blacktop, pavers, decks, roofs, ice rinks (Snowplow); driveways, sidewalks, decks (Marshalltown) | Ice removal (Snow Joe); driveways, sidewalks, outdoor areas (Yocada) | Each surface list belongs to its own listing |
Figures are manufacturer stated for the example models, collected 2 November 2026.
Push or lift: the core difference
The difference starts with the motion. The Snowplow listing says its pusher works with no lifting or scooping, and the Marshalltown listing describes pushing snow across driveways, sidewalks and decks. A pusher blade stays on the ground and slides snow to the side, which suits flat ground where snow can be moved aside rather than carried away. The shovel listings work the other way. The Snow Joe listing describes lifting heavier loads with leverage from its spring-assisted handle, and the Yocada listing describes a scoop for clearing driveways, sidewalks and outdoor areas. A shovel suits snow that has to go over a bank, onto a pile, or off a walk where there is nowhere to push it.
Blade width and material
Width decides how much ground each pass covers. The pusher examples state 24 inches for the Snowplow and 30 inches for the Marshalltown, both with UHMW blades. The Snowplow listing calls its blade virgin UHMW polyethylene and says snow slides off instead of sticking, while the Marshalltown listing calls its blade water-, wear- and impact-resistant. The shovel examples are narrower: the Snow Joe states an 18-inch blade, and the Yocada states a 16-inch plastic scoop with aluminum wear strips for hard snow and ice. Neither shovel listing states a UHMW blade, so the pusher side is the only side with that material stated.
Handles and effort
Handles decide how the work feels. The Snowplow listing states a metal handle with a patented TUFFBRACE connector system, and says the design gives stable, ergonomic control. The Marshalltown listing states a lightweight fiberglass handle with an angled D-grip, and says the angled blade maximizes pushing force and control. On the shovel side, the Snow Joe listing states a spring-assisted handle that acts as a fulcrum, with a D-ring grip designed for comfort, improved posture and less bending. The Yocada listing states a D-grip handle on 3 poles that adjust from 48inch to 55inch. A pusher handle is built for pushing force; a shovel handle is built for leverage and lift.
Weight and size
Size and weight figures belong to their own listings. The Snowplow example weighs 7.0 Pounds and measures 54.0 Inches x 48.0 Inches x 4.0 Inches. The Marshalltown example measures 48.5 Inches x 30.0 inches x 5.0 inches and states no weight. The Snow Joe title lists 3.5 Lbs., while its spec table lists 3.6 Pounds; the title wins over the spec table, so this article uses 3.5 Lbs. The Yocada example states a 55 inch length and a 16 inch scoop, with a handle that adjusts from 48inch to 55inch.
The examples
Acreage and terrain fit
Snow Joe SJ-SHLV01
The Snowplow 24
Marshalltown SNOWP30
Yocada 55-Inch
Matching It to Your Property
- A flat driveway with room to push snow aside: the Snowplow 24-inch blade or the Marshalltown 30-inch blade, both UHMW, push rather than lift.
- Walks with tight turns: the narrower Snow Joe 18-inch blade or Yocada 16-inch scoop turn more easily than a wide pusher blade.
- Snow that must go over a bank or onto a pile: a shovel, with the Snow Joe assist handle for leverage or the Yocada adjustable handle for reach.
- A garage short on wall space: the Yocada poles detach for storage.
- A property where the listing must state a warranty term: only the Snow Joe listing states 2 Years.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance, build quality, value, safety and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. A factor the listing does not state scores low or zero, which is why the safety side is zero on all four examples and only the Snow Joe example carries a warranty score, from its stated 2 Years term.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snow Joe SJ-SHLV01 | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | n/a | 3 |
| The Snowplow 24 | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| Marshalltown SNOWP30 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| Yocada 55-Inch | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Many property owners keep both: a pusher for open ground and a shovel for lifting snow where there is nowhere to push it.
Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: mowing large lots
How do you use a snow pusher?
Push it along the ground and slide snow aside, with no lifting or scooping, as the Snowplow listing describes. The Marshalltown listing adds that an angled blade maximizes pushing force and control across driveways, sidewalks and decks. A pusher suits flat ground where snow can be moved aside rather than carried away.
Can a snow pusher clear a large driveway?
The Marshalltown listing describes pushing across large areas, and the pusher blades here measure 24 inches and 30 inches. Neither listing states a driveway size.
Is a snow shovel better for lifting snow?
A shovel is the lifting tool of the two types. The Snow Joe listing states a spring-assisted handle that acts as a fulcrum for added leverage, and the Yocada listing states a scoop for clearing driveways and sidewalks. A pusher is built to push, not to lift.
Can these tools be used on a deck?
The Snowplow listing lists decks among its surfaces, and the Marshalltown listing lists decks alongside driveways and sidewalks. The shovel listings state driveways, sidewalks and outdoor areas, with no deck claim, so the pusher examples are the ones that state deck use.
Do any of these snow tools carry a warranty?
Only the Snow Joe listing states a term, 2 Years, in its spec table. The Snowplow listing states a limited warranty with no term given. The Marshalltown and Yocada listings state no warranty term.
More mowing guides
- Best Walk-Behind Brush Mower: 4 Picks for Rough Ground
- Best Battery String Trimmer for Tall Grass (2026)
- Best Trimmer Line Under $30 (2026): 5 Compared
- Best Trimmer Head Under $20 (2026): 5 Picks Compared
See every riding mower guide.



