U1 vs U1r Lawn Tractor Battery: Which One Should You Buy?
U1 and U1R lawn tractor batteries compared on terminal layout, CCA, capacity, size and charging, with lithium and AGM examples and a verdict on which side fits your tractor.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
TYKOOL U1R-M-480 12Ah 480CCA Lithium Lawn Mower Battery9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Mighty Max ML-U1R 12V 320CCA Sealed Lead Acid Battery9.4/10View on Amazon - 3
Mighty Max ML-U1R-CCAHR 12V 320 CCA SLA AGM Battery9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Mighty Max Battery ML-U1R-CCA -12 VoltView on Amazon - 5
U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon - 6
AJC Battery Compatible with Craftsman LT1000 U1R Lawn MowerView on Amazon - 7
Casil 12V 300CCA Lawn & Garden BatteryView on Amazon - 8
WEIZE 12.8V 12Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorView on Amazon - 9
WEIZE 12.8V 8Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorView on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a U1 battery if your old battery has its positive terminal on the left. Choose a U1R battery if the positive terminal is on the right. Measure the tray too, since the stated sizes differ.
A tractor that clicks instead of turning over at the start of mowing season may have a weak battery. The u1 vs u1r lawn tractor battery question is about terminal layout: which side the positive post sits on. Get that wrong and the cables may not reach the correct posts, even if the case fits the tray. The examples below compare both sides on polarity, starting power, size, weight and charging.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

TYKOOL U1-L-600 20Ah 600A Lithium Lawn Mower Battery
A Group U1 LiFePO4 lithium battery with 600A CCA, 20Ah capacity, an SOC display and Smart BMS protection for riding mowers.
Read the full review
The U1-L-600 is the strongest U1 example here: a 12V LiFePO4 battery with 600A CCA, 20Ah capacity, a 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in case, positive on the left, an SOC display and Smart BMS 5-layer protection. It weighs 8.1 lb and states a V0-rated shell. The listing requires a regulated charging system at 13.8V-14.6V DC and warns pre-2015 models to verify a voltage regulator.
Pros
- 600A CCA, the highest CCA here
- 20Ah capacity, the largest stated here
- SOC display for voltage and battery health
- V0-rated shell and Smart BMS protection
Cons
- Listing states IP66 in one place and IP67 in another
- Requires a regulated charging system at 13.8V-14.6V DC
- Heavier than the other lithium examples at 8.1 lb
- 1-year warranty against a 10-year service life claim

TYKOOL U1R-M-480 12Ah 480CCA Lithium Lawn Mower Battery
A Group U1R LiFePO4 lithium battery with 480CCA, 12Ah capacity, right-hand positive terminals and an SOC display for ride-on tractors.
Read the full review
The U1R-M-480 is the lithium example on the U1R side: a 12.8V LiFePO4 battery with 480CCA, 12Ah capacity, a 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in case, right-hand positive terminals, an SOC display and BMS 6-way protection. It weighs 5.07 lb and states an IP66 housing with over 2000 deep cycles.
Pros
- 480CCA starting power
- 12Ah capacity with SOC display
- Positive on the right for U1R trays
- BMS 6-way protection and IP66 housing
Cons
- Charging must stay regulated under 15.0V, or the BMS shuts down
- Needs an external 14.4V-14.6V charger on unregulated machines
- Matches U1R cable layout only; check terminal side before ordering
- 1-year warranty against a 10-year design life claim

TYKOOL U1-S-400 8Ah 400CCA Lithium Lawn Mower Battery
A Group U1 LiFePO4 lithium battery with 400A CCA, 8Ah capacity and a built-in BMS for ride-on lawn tractors and mowers.
Read the full review
The U1-S-400 is the lighter U1 example: a 12.8V LiFePO4 battery with 400A CCA, 8Ah capacity, a 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in case, polarity [+ -] and a built-in BMS that protects against overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent and short circuits. It weighs 3.97 lb and states over 3000 charging cycles. The listing names fitment for Craftsman, Cub Cadet, John Deere, Troy-Bilt and other mower models.
Pros
- 400A CCA in a 3.97 lb package
- 8Ah LiFePO4 with built-in BMS
- Same 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in Group U1 size
- Lists fitment for Craftsman, Cub Cadet, John Deere and Troy-Bilt models
Cons
- Smallest stated capacity here at 8Ah
- No SOC display stated
- 1-year warranty against longer-life claims
- No IP rating is stated

Mighty Max ML-U1R-CCAHR 12V 320 CCA SLA AGM Battery
A 12V SLA AGM lead-acid battery with 320 CCA and a Nut and Bolt terminal for lawn tractors on the U1R side.
Read the full review
The Mighty Max example is the lead-acid example on the U1R side: a 12V SLA AGM battery with 320 CCA, a Nut and Bolt terminal, a 5.0 x 7.62 x 6.25 in spec table size and a 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty. It weighs 14.7 lb. The listing states no capacity figure, no display, no BMS and no terminal side.
Pros
- 320 CCA sealed lead-acid AGM battery
- Nut and Bolt terminal
- 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty stated
- No regulator check is stated in the listing
Cons
- Heaviest here at 14.7 lb
- No capacity (Ah) figure is stated
- No SOC display or BMS stated
- Terminal side (left or right) is not stated
Other machines to compare
Mighty Max Battery ML-U1R-CCA -12 VoltCheck price on Amazon
U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
AJC Battery Compatible with Craftsman LT1000 U1R Lawn MowerCheck price on Amazon
Casil 12V 300CCA Lawn & Garden BatteryCheck price on Amazon
WEIZE 12.8V 12Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorCheck price on Amazon
WEIZE 12.8V 8Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorCheck price on Amazon
u1 vs u1r lawn tractor battery side by side
| Factor | TYKOOL U1-L-600 | TYKOOL U1R-M-480 | TYKOOL U1-S-400 | Mighty Max ML-U1R |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polarity | Positive on left [+ -] | Positive on right | Positive on left [+ -] | U1R model; terminal side not stated |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 lithium | LiFePO4 lithium | LiFePO4 lithium | SLA AGM lead-acid |
| CCA | 600A | 480CCA | 400A | 320 CCA |
| Capacity | 20Ah | 12Ah | 8Ah | Not stated |
| Voltage | 12V | 12.8V | 12.8V | 12V |
| Size | 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in | 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in | 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in | 5.0 x 7.62 x 6.25 in |
| Weight | 8.1 lb | 5.07 lb | 3.97 lb | 14.7 lb |
| Display and BMS | SOC display, Smart BMS | SOC display, BMS 6-way | BMS, no display stated | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year |
Figures are manufacturer stated for the examples shown, collected 2 November 2026.
Polarity: the difference that decides fit
U1 and U1R describe where the positive terminal sits, not a different group size, even though individual listings state slightly different dimensions. The two U1 examples state positive on the left, and the TYKOOL U1R-M-480 example states right-hand positive. The Mighty Max example is the U1R-side lead-acid example by model name, but its listing states no terminal side, so check the old battery before ordering it.
Match the new battery’s layout to the old one first, then compare capacity.
Starting power and capacity
Both sides state cold cranking amps clearly. The examples state 600A, 480CCA, 400A and 320 CCA. The highest figure here belongs to the U1-L-600 and the lowest to the Mighty Max, but that compares these four examples, not whole sides.
Capacity compares less cleanly: the examples state 20Ah, 12Ah and 8Ah, while the Mighty Max listing states no capacity figure, so do not judge it on a figure it never states.
Size, weight and chemistry
Three examples share one stated case size, 7.6 x 4.8 x 6.9 in, while the Mighty Max example lists 5.0 x 7.62 x 6.25 in, so measure the tray before ordering. Weight splits by chemistry: the lithium examples weigh 3.97 lb, 5.07 lb and 8.1 lb, while the lead-acid example weighs 14.7 lb. See the AGM vs lithium mower battery comparison for how the two chemistries differ.
Charging, BMS and displays
Three examples state a battery management system. The U1-L-600 example states a Smart BMS with 5-layer protection, a V0-rated shell and an SOC display. The U1R-M-480 example states BMS 6-way protection, an SOC display and an IP66 housing. The U1-S-400 example states a built-in BMS with no display stated. The Mighty Max example states no BMS and no display.
Two lithium listings state regulator requirements. The U1-L-600 listing requires a regulated charging system at 13.8V-14.6V DC and warns pre-2015 models to verify a voltage regulator. The U1R-M-480 listing requires charging regulated under 15.0V, with an external 14.4V-14.6V lithium charger on unregulated machines, and warns that the BMS shuts the battery down above 15.0V. The U1-L-600 listing also states its weather sealing two ways, IP66 and IP67, so treat that rating as unclear.
The examples
Acreage and terrain fit
TYKOOL U1-L-600
TYKOOL U1R-M-480
TYKOOL U1-S-400
Mighty Max ML-U1R
How they were scored
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance, build quality, value, safety and warranty. A factor the listing does not state scores zero, which is why the lead-acid example scores zero for safety.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TYKOOL U1-L-600 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| TYKOOL U1R-M-480 | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| TYKOOL U1-S-400 | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 2 |
| Mighty Max ML-U1R | 9.4 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Matching It to Your Property
- Positive on the left: the U1 examples fit trays wired for positive-left batteries.
- Positive on the right: the U1R-M-480 example states right-hand positive; the Mighty Max example states no terminal side.
- Lithium charging: two lithium listings state regulator requirements, so check the charging notes on the listing you buy.
- Weight and handling: the lead-acid example is the heaviest here.
FAQ: mowing large lots
What is the difference between U1 and U1R?
Terminal layout. The U1-L-600 example states positive on the left, and the U1R-M-480 example states right-hand positive. The Mighty Max U1R-side example states no terminal side, so confirm against your old battery.
Can I use a U1 battery in place of a U1R?
No, not as a direct swap. The posts are mirrored between the two groups, so a U1 battery does not match a U1R tray’s cable layout. Match the layout first, then compare CCA and capacity.
Do lithium lawn mower batteries need a special charger?
Two listings here give regulator requirements: the U1-L-600 listing requires a regulated system at 13.8V-14.6V DC, and the U1R-M-480 listing requires charging regulated under 15.0V, with an external 14.4V-14.6V lithium charger on unregulated machines. The other two listings do not mention a regulator requirement.
How long do these batteries last?
The U1-L-600 listing claims over 3000 deep cycles and a 10-year service life, the U1R-M-480 listing claims over 2000 deep cycles and a 10-year design life, and the U1-S-400 listing claims over 3000 charging cycles. Every listing here states a 1-year warranty, far shorter than the life claims.



