Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

56V vs 80V Lawn Mower: Which One Should You Buy?

Compare 56V and 80V walk-behind mowers on deck, battery, runtime and warranty, with a verdict on which side suits which lawn.

56V vs 80V Lawn Mower: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1EGO Power+ LM2125SP 21 in 56V Self-Propelled Lawn MowerEGO Power+ LM2125SP 21 in 56V Self-Propelled Lawn Mower9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Greenworks 80V 21in Self-Propelled Lawn MowerGreenworks 80V 21in Self-Propelled Lawn Mower9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3EGO POWER+ 56V 30-Inch Self-Propelled Cordless Lawn MowerEGO POWER+ 56V 30-Inch Self-Propelled Cordless Lawn Mower9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 418-Inch 80V Max Cordless Lawn Mower for Medium & Large Yards18-Inch 80V Max Cordless Lawn Mower for Medium & Large YardsView on Amazon
  5. 5BLACK+DECKER Electric Lawn MowerBLACK+DECKER Electric Lawn MowerView on Amazon
  6. 6BLACK+DECKER 3-in-1 String Trimmer/Edger & Lawn MowerBLACK+DECKER 3-in-1 String Trimmer/Edger & Lawn MowerView on Amazon
  7. 7Inductive Hour Meter for Engine Generator Lawn Mower 2PcsInductive Hour Meter for Engine Generator Lawn Mower 2PcsView on Amazon
  8. 8American Lawn Mower 50514 14" 11-Amp Corded Electric LawnAmerican Lawn Mower 50514 14" 11-Amp Corded Electric LawnView on Amazon
  9. 9LawnMaster MEB1114K Electric Corded Lawn Mower 15-Inch 11AMPLawnMaster MEB1114K Electric Corded Lawn Mower 15-Inch 11AMPView on Amazon

Verdict: Choose a 56V example if you want the EGO mower’s lifetime deck warranty and a spare battery that fits the same platform. Choose an 80V example if you want a self-propelled mower or a mower and blower kit from the Greenworks platform.

A lawn with trees, beds and a driveway edge asks for a mower that can turn, stop and start again without fuss, and the 56v vs 80v lawn mower question comes down to which battery platform fits that lawn and the tools already in the shed. This comparison sets the voltages side by side, then the listings below as concrete examples.

AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

EGO POWER+ Electric Lawn Mower, Self-Propelled Cordless with 22-inch Aluminum Deck

EGO POWER+ Electric Lawn Mower, Self-Propelled Cordless with 22-inch Aluminum Deck

EGO Power+9.6/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

A self-propelled 56V mower with a 22-inch cast aluminum deck, Touch Drive and a 10.0Ah battery for up to 70 minutes of runtime.

Read the full review

The EGO mower is the full-size 56V mower example here: a self-propelled cordless mower with a 22-inch cast aluminum deck, up to 11.1 ft-lbs of cutting torque and blade speeds up to 3,350 RPM, per the listing. Touch Drive control, Select Cut blades and up to 70 minutes on the included 56V 10.0Ah battery round out a mower made for regular lawn work, with a lifetime deck warranty.

Pros

  • 22-inch cast aluminum deck with a lifetime deck warranty.
  • Up to 11.1 ft-lbs of cutting torque with blade speeds up to 3,350 RPM, per the listing.
  • Up to 70 minutes of runtime on the included 56V 10.0Ah battery.
  • Touch Drive self-propelled control plus Select Cut interchangeable lower blades, with catcher, mulching insert and side-discharge chute included.

Cons

  • 132.0 pounds, the heaviest listing here, so moving it in and out of storage takes effort.
  • Title and bullets state a 22-inch deck while the spec table lists size as 21 inches, so confirm deck size before buying.
  • No safety feature such as a blade stop is stated in the listing.
  • Mower only, with no second tool such as a blower included.
Greenworks 80V 21-inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower, 8.0Ah Battery and Charger

Greenworks 80V 21-inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower, 8.0Ah Battery and Charger

Greenworks9.6/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

A self-propelled 80V mower with a 21-inch steel deck, an 8.0Ah battery and push-button start.

Read the full review

The Greenworks self-propelled mower pairs an 80V brushless motor with a 21-inch steel deck and an 8.0Ah battery, cutting up to 1/2 acre on a single charge, per the listing. Push-button start, 7-position height adjustment and a 4-in-1 system for mulching, bagging, turbo leaf pickup and side discharge cover the usual lawn jobs, with a 4-year limited tool and battery warranty.

Pros

  • Self-propelled 80V brushless mower with a 21-inch steel deck.
  • 8.0Ah battery for up to 1/2 acre on a single charge, per the listing.
  • 4-in-1 system for mulching, bagging, turbo leaf pickup and side discharge.
  • 4-year limited tool and battery warranty, with push-button start and 7-position height adjustment.

Cons

  • 90.0 pounds, heavier than the 85.0 pound kit listing.
  • No runtime in minutes is stated, only up to 1/2 acre per charge.
  • No safety feature is stated in the listing.
  • No blower is included, unlike the kit listing here.
Greenworks 80V 21-inch Mower and Blower Kit

Greenworks 80V 21-inch Mower and Blower Kit

Greenworks9.6/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

A mower and blower kit with a 21-inch steel deck, a brushless motor and a 770 CFM blower for mowing and cleanup.

Read the full review

The Greenworks kit is the only combo here: a 21-inch steel deck mower plus a 770 CFM, 180 MPH brushless blower, with 7-position single-lever height adjustment and an LED headlight. The mower cuts up to ½ acre on a single charge, per the listing, and the blower clears clippings, leaves and driveway debris, with a 4-year limited tool and battery warranty.

Pros

  • Mower and blower in one kit, with a 770 CFM, 180 MPH brushless blower.
  • 21-inch steel deck that cuts up to ½ acre on a single charge, per the listing.
  • 7-position single-lever height adjustment plus LED headlight for dawn and dusk mowing.
  • 4-year limited tool and battery warranty, working with 75+ Greenworks 80V tools.

Cons

  • Battery capacity is unclear: the title lists 5.0Ah while the bullets list 4.0Ah.
  • No self-propelled drive is stated in the listing.
  • No safety feature is stated in the listing.
  • No runtime in minutes is stated, only up to ½ acre per charge.
Replacement for EGO 56V 5.0Ah Battery

Replacement for EGO 56V 5.0Ah Battery

Forrat9.4/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

A 56V 5.0Ah replacement battery with an LED indicator for EGO 56V cordless tools.

Read the full review

The Forrat listing is a battery, not a mower: a 56V 5.0Ah lithium ion replacement for EGO 56V tools, with an LED indicator and protection against over-charging, over-current, over-heat and short circuit. It fits a range of EGO 56V tools and chargers, including CH7000, and its model is BA2800T.

Pros

  • 56V 5.0Ah lithium ion battery with an LED indicator.
  • Compatible with EGO 56V tools and chargers, including CH7000.
  • Protection against over-charging, over-current, over-heat and short circuit, per the listing.
  • Compact 1-pack backup battery for extending time on the 56V platform.

Cons

  • A battery only, not a mower, so it cannot mow on its own.
  • 5.0Ah capacity sits below the 10.0Ah EGO battery in this list.
  • No mower, charger or tool is included, only the battery and a user manual.
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing.

Other machines to compare

56v vs 80v lawn mower side by side

Factor EGO Self-Propelled (56V) Forrat 56V Battery (56V) Greenworks Mower Kit (80V) Greenworks SP Mower (80V)
Voltage 56V 56V 80V 80V
Deck 22-inch cast aluminum Not stated 21-inch steel 21-inch steel
Battery 56V 10.0Ah 56V 5.0Ah Title 5.0Ah, bullets 4.0Ah 80V 8.0Ah
Runtime or coverage Up to 70 minutes Not stated Up to ½ acre per charge Up to 1/2 acre per charge
Drive Touch Drive self-propelled Not stated Not stated Self-propelled
Weight 132.0 pounds Not stated 85.0 pounds 90.0 pounds
Warranty Lifetime deck Not stated 4-year limited 4-year limited

Figures are manufacturer stated for the example models, collected 2 November 2026.

Voltage and battery

Voltage alone does not settle this comparison, because the listings on each side state different capacities. The EGO example lists a 56V 10.0Ah battery with up to 70 minutes of runtime, while the Forrat example on the same side lists a 56V 5.0Ah battery with no mower attached. On the 80V side, the self-propelled Greenworks example lists an 8.0Ah battery, while the kit listing is unclear, with 5.0Ah in the title and 4.0Ah in the bullets.

That spread means a buyer should compare the battery on each listing, not the voltage label alone. A spare battery also matters: the Forrat example fits EGO 56V tools and chargers, so a 56V buyer can add a charged spare for the same platform.

Deck and cut

The EGO example lists a 22-inch cast aluminum deck with Select Cut interchangeable lower blades, while both Greenworks examples list 21-inch steel decks. The Greenworks examples also list 7-position height adjustment, with the kit listing a single-lever control and an LED headlight.

Cutting systems differ too: the EGO listing includes a grass catcher, a mulching insert and a side-discharge chute, while the Greenworks listings describe a 4-in-1 system for mulching, bagging, side discharge and turbo leaf pickup. Neither Greenworks listing states a torque figure, while the EGO listing states up to 11.1 ft-lbs of cutting torque, so torque cannot be compared across the listings here.

Drive and handling

Drive separates the mowers more clearly than voltage does. The EGO example uses Touch Drive self-propelled control, and the Greenworks self-propelled example is self-propelled as well, while the Greenworks kit listing states no self-propelled drive. The EGO example weighs 132.0 pounds, the self-propelled Greenworks example weighs 90.0 pounds, and the kit listing weighs 85.0 pounds in the spec table.

Weight and drive together affect handling on a lawn with trees and beds: a self-propelled drive helps move a heavier mower, while the kit listing states no drive type, so its handling cannot be judged the same way. The Forrat example has no weight stated, since it is a battery, not a mower.

What comes in the box

The EGO listing includes the mower, a 56V 10.0Ah battery, a 56V 700W charger, a grass catcher, a mulching insert and a side-discharge chute. The Greenworks kit listing includes a mower, a blower and a rapid charger, while the self-propelled Greenworks listing includes the mower, an 8.0Ah battery and a charger. The Forrat listing includes only the battery and a user manual, so it suits a buyer who already owns a compatible tool.

Warranty

Warranty differs in coverage. The EGO listing states a lifetime deck warranty, while both Greenworks listings state a 4-year limited tool and battery warranty. The Forrat listing states no warranty term, so a buyer who values warranty cover should weigh that gap.

The examples

Acreage and terrain fit

EGO Self-Propelled

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Greenworks SP Mower

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Greenworks Mower Kit

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Forrat 56V Battery

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Matching It to Your Property

  • Flat lawns with trees and beds: the Greenworks kit listing mentions mowing around trees, flower beds and yard edges.
  • Storage: the EGO example measures 62.6 by 23.1 by 44.9 inches and weighs 132.0 pounds, so check the shed door and floor space.
  • Lawns up to ½ acre: both Greenworks listings state up to ½ acre on a single charge.
  • Spare battery: the Forrat example fits EGO 56V tools, so a charged spare can wait on the shelf.

The Acre Score explained

The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance (power, deck and what it can cut), build quality (deck, motor and drive), value (what comes in the box), safety (certifications or operator controls the listing states) and warranty (term and coverage). A factor the listing does not state scores zero, which is why the listings without a stated safety feature score zero for safety, and the Forrat battery scores zero for warranty.

Product Acre Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
EGO Self-Propelled 9.6 32 22 21 0 4
Greenworks SP Mower 9.6 32 21 21 0 4
Greenworks Mower Kit 9.6 30 21 21 0 4
Forrat 56V Battery 9.4 21 18 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

If you mow open ground with trees and beds, see our walk-behind and robotic mowers for more walk-behind options.

Walk-behind and brush mower safety

Walk the area first and clear stones, sticks, wire and toys. Wear eye and hearing protection, long pants and sturdy closed footwear, mow across slopes with a walk-behind (not up and down), and never pull a running mower toward you. Keep kids and pets well away. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: mowing large lots

Can a 56V mower cut as well as an 80V mower?

The listings do not settle that by voltage alone: the EGO 56V example lists up to 11.1 ft-lbs of torque, while neither Greenworks 80V listing states a torque figure, so the listings leave that comparison unclear.

Which listing runs longest on a charge?

Only the EGO listing states minutes, up to 70 minutes, while the Greenworks listings state up to ½ acre per charge, so minutes and acres cannot be compared directly here.

Does the Greenworks kit include a 5.0Ah or a 4.0Ah battery?

The listing is unclear: the title lists 5.0Ah while the bullets list 4.0Ah, so confirm the battery before buying.

Is the Forrat battery a mower?

No. It is a replacement battery for EGO 56V tools, with no mower included, so it suits a buyer who already owns a compatible tool.

More mowing guides

Browse the walk-behind and robotic category for more walk-behind options.

More buying guides