Best Lawn Mower Battery for Toro Mowers (2026)
Five Toro mower batteries compared: four 12 volt sealed lead-acid starter batteries and one 60 volt cordless pack, ranked on capacity, fit and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallPowerStar 12V 3.4Ah9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best Warranty ValuePowerStar 12V 3.3Ah9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
UL Certified PickMighty Max ML3-12 3.4Ah9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
60V Platform PickDTK 60V 5Ah9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
Mighty Max Battery ML-U1 200CCA Battery for Toro Time CutterView on Amazon - 6
WEIZE 12.8V 12Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorView on Amazon - 7
WEIZE 12.8V 8Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorView on Amazon - 8
WEIZE Lawn Garden AGM BatteryView on Amazon - 9
UPLUS U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon
The mower clicks and nothing turns over. On a Toro with an electric start, that click is usually the small 12 volt battery behind the seat, tired after a winter in the shed. The best lawn mower battery for toro mowers is the one that matches your mower’s voltage and physical size: four of the five picks here are 12 volt sealed lead-acid replacements for the small Toro battery, and the fifth is a 60 volt lithium pack for Toro’s 60 volt cordless platform. Match voltage first, then the terminal style, and the click goes away.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall PowerStar 12V 3.4Ah: 12 volt 3.4Ah sealed lead-acid with the strongest written warranty here: 3 years in float applications, 2 years otherwise. Check price on Amazon
- Best Warranty Value PowerStar 12V 3.3Ah: 12 volt 3.3Ah with a plain 2-year free replacement warranty and consistent figures across the listing. Check price on Amazon
- UL Certified Pick Mighty Max ML3-12 3.4Ah: UL certified 12 volt battery with an F1 terminal and any-position SLA/AGM construction. Check price on Amazon
- 60V Platform Pick DTK 60V 5Ah: 60 volt 5Ah lithium pack with a 4-LED fuel gauge for Toro 60 volt cordless mowers and tools. Check price on Amazon
Our acreage picks

PowerStar Replacement for Toro Lawn Mower BATTERY-12V 3.4Ah
A 12 volt sealed lead-acid replacement battery for Toro mowers, listing 3.4Ah in the title and 3.3 ah in the bullets, with a 2.8 lb weight, T1 terminal and a 3-year float / 2-year general warranty.
Read the full review
The PowerStar 3.4Ah unit earns the top slot on the strength of its written warranty: 3 years in backup or float applications and 2 years in all other applications, the longest terms in this group. The listing describes AGM construction, sealed and maintenance free, that mounts in any position and resists shock and vibration.
The capacity wrinkle: the title says 3.4Ah while the bullets say 3.3 ah, and the weight reads 2.75 lbs in the bullets against 2.8 pounds in the spec table. Per the house rule the title figure leads. It lists a T1 terminal, so confirm that matches your mower before ordering.
Pros
- Strongest written warranty here: 3 years in float applications, 2 years otherwise
- Lists AGM construction, sealed and maintenance free, mountable in any position
- Lists shock and vibration resistance with low self discharge
- States 5.28 by 2.64 by 2.62 inches and a T1 terminal for fit checking
Cons
- Capacity stated two ways: 3.4Ah in the title, 3.3 ah in the bullets
- Weight stated two ways: 2.75 lbs in bullets, 2.8 pounds in the spec table
- T1 terminal only; check it matches your mower's wiring
- Heavier marketing copy to wade through for the facts

PowerStar Replacement Part for Toro Lawn Mower BATTERY-12 Volt
A 12 volt 3.3Ah sealed lead-acid replacement battery for Toro mowers at 2.8 pounds, with a 2-year free replacement warranty and a long list of cross-referenced part numbers.
Read the full review
The second PowerStar is the straightforward pick: 12 volts, 3.3Ah, 2.8 pounds, and a 2-year free replacement warranty stated without conditions. The capacity figure is consistent across the title, bullets and spec table, which is more than some listings here manage.
The listing's cross-reference list runs long, which helps confirm fit against the old battery. What it does not state is the terminal style, so check your mower's wiring before ordering.
Pros
- 2-year free replacement warranty stated plainly
- Lists 12 volts and 3.3Ah consistently across title, bullets and spec table
- Long cross-reference list for matching the old battery
- 2.8 pounds, same footprint as the other 12 volt picks
Cons
- No terminal style stated in the listing
- Fewer construction details than the AGM PowerStar above
- Bullets lean on UPS and alarm applications, not mowers
- No stated shock or vibration resistance

Mighty Max Battery ML3-12 Replacement for Toro Lawn Mower BATTERY-12V 3.4Ah
A 12 volt sealed lead-acid replacement battery for Toro mowers, UL certified, listing 3.4Ah in the title and 3AH in the bullets, with an F1 terminal, 2.9 pounds and a 1-year warranty.
Read the full review
The Mighty Max 3.4Ah unit is the certified pick: the listing states UL certification on its sealed lead-acid construction, with spill-proof behavior, any-position mounting and resistance to shocks and vibration. It lists an F1 terminal and 5.28 by 2.64 by 2.64 inches, so fit is checkable.
The capacity figure disagrees with itself: 3.4Ah in the title against 3AH in the bullets and 3 in the spec table. Title leads per the rule. The 1-year warranty trails both PowerStar terms, which costs it the top slots.
Pros
- UL certified per the listing
- Lists an F1 terminal so fit can be checked
- States spill-proof SLA/AGM construction, mountable in any position
- Lists resistance to shocks and vibration
Cons
- Capacity stated two ways: 3.4Ah in the title, 3AH in the bullets
- 1-year warranty is shorter than both PowerStar terms
- 2.9 pounds, the heaviest of the 12 volt picks
- Battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories included

Mighty Max Battery ML3-12 Replacement for Toro Lawn Mower BATTERY-12 Volt
A 12 volt sealed lead-acid replacement battery for Toro mowers listing 3AH in the bullets, UL certified, with an F1 terminal, 2.9 pounds and a 1-year warranty.
Read the full review
This Mighty Max is nearly the twin of the unit above: same UL certified sealed lead-acid build, same F1 terminal, same footprint and same 1-year warranty. The listing leaves capacity out of the title entirely and states 3AH in the bullets against 3 in the spec table.
It scores a touch lower on the thinner title and the model number disagreement between bullets and spec table. As a straight replacement where the terminal and size match, it does the same job.
Pros
- UL certified per the listing
- Lists an F1 terminal and the same 5.28 by 2.64 by 2.64 inch footprint
- States spill-proof construction and any-position mounting
- 1-year warranty stated in writing
Cons
- Title states no capacity; bullets say 3AH, spec table says 3
- 2.9 pounds, tied heaviest of the 12 volt picks
- Battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories included
- Spec table model numbers disagree with the bullets

DTK Battery Replacement for Toro 60V Battery 5Ah 60V Battery
A 60 volt 5Ah lithium replacement pack for Toro 60 volt cordless tools and mowers, stating 300Wh, a 4-LED fuel gauge, an ABS and PC case and a 12-month limited warranty.
Read the full review
The DTK is a different category from the other four: a 60 volt 5Ah lithium pack for Toro's cordless platform, stating 300Wh and a 4-LED fuel gauge. The listing describes built-in protections against over-charge, over-discharge, over-current and over-heating, in an ABS and PC case it calls sturdy and fire resistant.
The listing wrinkle is the bullet that mentions fast charging with an original 40V battery charger while describing a 60 volt battery. That reads as a copy error, and it is worth confirming charger compatibility before buying. The 12-month warranty is the least coverage here.
Pros
- The only 60 volt platform battery in this group
- States 5Ah and 300Wh with a 4-LED fuel gauge on the pack
- Lists over-charge, over-discharge, over-current and over-heating protections
- ABS and PC case described as sturdy and fire resistant with good heat dissipation
Cons
- Does not fit gas mowers that need a 12 volt starter battery
- Bullets mention charging with an original 40V battery charger, at odds with 60 volts
- 12-month warranty is the least coverage here
- Weight stated only as 1500 g, no pounds figure
Other machines to compare
Mighty Max Battery ML-U1 200CCA Battery for Toro Time CutterCheck price on Amazon
WEIZE 12.8V 12Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorCheck price on Amazon
WEIZE 12.8V 8Ah Lithium Battery for Lawn Mower and TractorCheck price on Amazon
WEIZE Lawn Garden AGM BatteryCheck price on Amazon
UPLUS U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
Side-by-side specs
| Battery | Acre Score | Voltage | Capacity | Weight | Terminal | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerStar 12V 3.4Ah | 9.6/10 | 12 V | 3.4Ah (3.3 in bullets) | 2.8 lb | T1 | 3 yr float / 2 yr |
| PowerStar 12V 3.3Ah | 9.5/10 | 12 V | 3.3Ah | 2.8 lb | not stated | 2 yr free replacement |
| Mighty Max ML3-12 3.4Ah | 9.5/10 | 12 V | 3.4Ah (3AH in bullets) | 2.9 lb | F1 | 1 yr |
| Mighty Max ML3-12 12V | 9.4/10 | 12 V | 3AH in bullets | 2.9 lb | F1 | 1 yr |
| DTK 60V 5Ah | 9.4/10 | 60 V | 5Ah | 1500 g | pack fit | 12 mo |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, the review notes both and the table uses the title figure.
Buying guide: best lawn mower battery for toro mowers
12 volt or 60 volt: which battery does your Toro need
These are two different animals. The small 12 volt sealed lead-acid battery starts an engine: it sits on the mower, cranks the starter and recharges while you mow. The DTK 60 volt pack is the fuel tank for a cordless mower: it slides into the tool and powers the cut. A 12 volt battery will not run a 60 volt mower and a 60 volt pack will not start a gas engine, so check what your Toro actually uses before you order. If your mower has a pull cord and a key switch, you want one of the four 12 volt picks.
Capacity in amp-hours and what it changes
On a starter battery, amp-hours describe reserve energy: how long the battery can deliver current. The listings here range from 3 to 3.4 amp-hours across the 12 volt picks, with the DTK at 5 amp-hours on its 60 volt platform. Do not overthink small differences between the 12 volt units: the terminals, the physical size and whether it fits the battery tray decide the purchase more than a tenth of an amp-hour.
Terminals, size and fit
The Mighty Max units list an F1 terminal; the PowerStar 3.4Ah unit lists a T1 terminal. Terminals must match the mower’s wiring, so look at your old battery before ordering. The four 12 volt units share the same 5.28 by 2.64 inch footprint with heights around 2.62 to 2.64 inches, which is why they all claim the same Toro fit. Measure the tray if your mower has a non-standard box.
Reading the contradictions in these listings
Two listings state their capacity two ways. The Mighty Max title says 3.4Ah while its bullets say 3AH; the PowerStar title says 3.4Ah while its bullets say 3.3 ah. We use the title figure in the table and note both in each review, per the rule that titles outrank spec tables. The DTK bullets mention charging with an original 40V battery charger while describing a 60 volt battery, another listing wrinkle worth knowing before you buy.
Matching It to Your Property
- For a gas Toro with electric start, pick one of the four 12 volt sealed lead-acid units and match the terminal style to your old battery.
- For a Toro 60 volt cordless mower, trimmer or blower, the DTK pack is the only pick here that fits the platform.
- Store the battery where the shed does not freeze it solid; sealed lead-acid and lithium both prefer a dry shelf over a damp floor.
- Keep the mower’s original charger or a maintainer on the 12 volt units over winter so spring does not start with a click.
Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance (capacity and discharge behavior as stated), build quality (case, terminals and stated protections), value (what the listing states for the class), safety (stated protections), and warranty (years and coverage in writing).
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerStar 12V 3.4Ah | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| PowerStar 12V 3.3Ah | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| Mighty Max ML3-12 3.4Ah | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| Mighty Max ML3-12 12V | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| DTK 60V 5Ah | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: mowing large lots
Which battery does my Toro mower need, 12 volt or 60 volt?
If your Toro has a gas engine with a key switch, it needs one of the 12 volt sealed lead-acid batteries here. If it is a cordless electric Toro on the 60 volt platform, it needs the DTK 60 volt pack. The two types are not interchangeable.
Can I use a 3.3Ah battery where the listing said 3.4Ah?
For a starter battery, yes in practice: the terminals and the physical fit matter more than a tenth of an amp-hour. The capacity contradictions in these listings (3.4Ah in the title, 3.3 or 3AH in the bullets) are listing noise, not a real choice between two different batteries.
What do T1 and F1 terminals mean?
They are different terminal post styles on these small 12 volt batteries. The Mighty Max units list F1 terminals and one PowerStar lists a T1 terminal. Match the terminal on your old battery so the mower’s wiring connects without modification.
How do I make a mower battery last?
Keep it charged in the off season and store it dry. Sealed lead-acid batteries sulfate when they sit discharged, which is the usual cause of the spring click. A maintainer over winter costs less than a new battery every other year.
Will an aftermarket battery void anything on my Toro?
These are sold as replacements for the Toro part and the listings state their own warranties: up to 3 years in float applications on the PowerStar, 2 years on the other PowerStar, 1 year on the Mighty Max units and 12 months on the DTK. Keep the receipt and register the warranty if the maker offers it.
More mowing guides
- Best Battery for Riding Lawn Mower (2026): 5 Compared
- Best Lawn Mower Battery for John Deere: 5 U1 Picks Compared
- Foval Automatic Trickle Battery Charger Review: Pros, Cons & Who It’s For
See the best battery for riding lawn mower picks and the best lawn mower battery for John Deere comparison.



