Best Pruning Loppers Under 40 (2026): 5 Picks for Trees
Five loppers for trees, bushes and shrubs compared by cut capacity, length, blade type, grip and warranty for yard work through the season.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Top PickFiskars PowerGear 159.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best BypassFiskars Bypass 249.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Compound ExtendableYRTSH Extendable 21-269.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Adjustable ExtendableAIRAJ Extendable 16-249.6/10View on Amazon - 5
Compact PickYRTSH Lopper 189.5/10View on Amazon - 6
AIRAJ 27-37''Anvil Loppers for Tree Trimmer Heavy Duty withView on Amazon - 7
Jardineer Gardening Pruning ShearView on Amazon
A yard with fruit trees, bushes and hedges grows out of shape through the season, and thick branches soon block paths and crowd the beds. The job calls for a lopper that matches the branch, and this guide compares the best pruning loppers under 40 for that work, by cut capacity, length, blade type and warranty.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Top Pick Fiskars PowerGear 15: 15 inch anvil lopper with a 1.25 inch cut and a lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
- Best Bypass Fiskars Bypass 24: 24 inch bypass lopper with a 1.5 inch cut and SoftGrip handles Check price on Amazon
- Compound Extendable YRTSH Extendable 21-26: Extendable anvil lopper with a 1.6 inch cut and compound action Check price on Amazon
- Adjustable Extendable AIRAJ Extendable 16-24: Extendable bypass lopper with a 1.5 inch cut and SK5 blades Check price on Amazon
- Compact Pick YRTSH Lopper 18: Fixed 18 inch anvil lopper with a 1.6 inch cut Check price on Amazon
Our acreage picks

Fiskars 15 Inch PowerGear Anvil Lopper, 1.25 Inch Cut
Anvil lopper with a 1.25 inch cut, PowerGear leverage, a low-friction blade coating and a lifetime warranty, in a compact 15 inch design.
Who it's for: a yard owner with dry branches and a small storage space who wants a compact lopper.
Who should skip it: anyone who needs a larger cut or a bypass blade for green growth. Note: size is 15 inch, while item dimensions list 17.38 inches, and the spec table spells the maker Fisakrs.
Read the full review
The 15 inch PowerGear anvil lopper is built for dry, dead growth, with a 1.25 inch cut, a low-friction coating and DuraFrame construction at 14.4 ounces. The listing states a lifetime warranty, which is the strongest warranty statement in this roundup.
Pros
- Lifetime warranty stated on the listing
- PowerGear technology multiplies leverage for branch-cutting power
- Low-friction blade coating for smoother cuts with less gumming
- Lightweight at 14.4 ounces with DuraFrame construction
Cons
- Cut capacity of 1.25 inches is the smallest here
- Anvil design suits dry, dead growth rather than green growth, per the listing
- Listing dimensions of 17.38 inches differ from the 15 inch size
- No extendable handle option is stated

Fiskars 24 Inch Bypass Lopper, 1.5 Inch Cut
Bypass lopper with a 1.5 inch cut, low-friction steel blades, SoftGrip handles and shock-absorbing bumpers, in a 24 inch design.
Who it's for: a yard owner pruning green growth who wants a longer handle and a comfortable grip.
Who should skip it: anyone who needs an anvil blade for dry, dead growth. Note the spec table lists item dimensions of 1 inch by 8 inches, which does not match the 24 inch size in the title; the review trusts the title and size figure.
Read the full review
The 24 inch bypass lopper cuts green growth up to 1.5 inches, with precision-ground, low-friction blades and SoftGrip handles. Bumpers absorb shock at the close, which the listing presents as a comfort feature.
Pros
- Bypass blade design for green growth
- Precision-ground blade for clean cuts
- Low-friction coating reduces sap buildup
- SoftGrip handles with shock-absorbing bumpers for comfort
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Wood handles differ from the alloy handles on other picks
- Item dimensions of 1 inch by 8 inches differ from the 24 inch size
- No extendable handle option is stated

YRTSH Extendable Lopper, 21-26 Inch, 1.6 Inch Cut
Extendable anvil lopper with a 1.6 inch cut, compound action technology and a low-friction, non-stick blade, in a 21-26 inch size.
Who it's for: a yard owner who needs reach for higher branches and a larger cut.
Who should skip it: anyone who wants a fixed handle with a single stated length. The length figures conflict: title and size state 21-26 inches, while bullets state 28 to 41 inches.
Read the full review
This extendable lopper pairs a 1.6 inch cut with compound action and a non-stick blade, and the handle adjusts in 6 steps for reach. The grip is soft rubber and non-slip, per the listing.
Pros
- 1.6 inch clean cut capacity, tied for the largest here
- Compound action provides 4 times more power, per the listing
- 6-step extendable handle for reach
- Non-slip, soft rubber grip for comfort
Cons
- Length figures conflict: title and size state 21-26 inches, while bullets state 28 to 41 inches
- No warranty term is stated
- No weight figure is stated
- Only the branch cutter is listed as included

AIRAJ Extendable Lopper, 16-24 Inch, 1.5 Inch Cut
Extendable bypass lopper with a 1.5 inch cut, SK5 steel blades with a Teflon coating, and handles that adjust from 16 to 24 inches.
Who it's for: a home gardener who wants an adjustable handle for tall branches.
Who should skip it: anyone who wants a fixed handle or a stated warranty term. Bullets state SK5 steel, while the spec table states Carbon Steel.
Read the full review
The AIRAJ lopper adjusts from 16 to 24 inches, with a 1.5 inch cut, SK5 blades and a Teflon coating. The iron arm is stated as sturdy, and the grip is non-slip, which suits tall branches in a home garden.
Pros
- Handles adjust from 16 inches to 24 inches for tall branches
- SK5 steel blades with a Teflon coating stay sharp after heavy use, per the listing
- Iron arm is stated as sturdy and durable, and will not bend
- Non-slip grip improves friction even when palms sweat, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Blade material naming differs between bullets and spec table
- No included extras beyond the lopper are stated
- Rubber and plastic handles differ from alloy handles on other picks

YRTSH Lopper, 18 Inch, 1.6 Inch Cut
Fixed anvil lopper with a 1.6 inch cut, compound action technology and a steel blade with a low-friction coating, in an 18 inch design.
Who it's for: a yard owner who wants a simple fixed lopper for thick branches.
Who should skip it: anyone who needs an extendable handle or a stated warranty term. The title states a 1.6 inch cut, while the bullets state 1-3/5 inch branches; those figures match in value, so the review reports both forms. No warranty term is stated.
Read the full review
The fixed YRTSH lopper is the simplest pick here: an 18 inch anvil lopper with a 1.6 inch cut, compound action and a low-friction steel blade. The listing states the blade stays sharp after tough jobs and the grips reduce strain when reaching.
Pros
- 1.6 inch cut capacity, tied for the largest here
- Compound action provides 4 times more power, per the listing
- Low-friction coating helps the blade glide through branches
- Non-slip grips on a long handle for control
Cons
- Fixed 18 inch length, with no extendable option stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Only one pack is listed, with no spare blade stated
- No weight figure is stated
Other machines to compare
AIRAJ 27-37''Anvil Loppers for Tree Trimmer Heavy Duty withCheck price on Amazon
Jardineer Gardening Pruning ShearCheck price on Amazon
Side-by-side specs
| Model | Acre Score | Type | Cut capacity | Length | Blade | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiskars PowerGear 15 | 9.7/10 | Anvil | 1.25 inches | 15 Inch | Alloy Steel | Lifetime warranty |
| Fiskars Bypass 24 | 9.7/10 | Bypass | 1.5 inches | 24 Inch | Alloy Steel | Not stated |
| YRTSH Extendable 21-26 | 9.6/10 | Anvil | 1.6 inches | 21-26 inches | Alloy Steel | Not stated |
| AIRAJ Extendable 16-24 | 9.6/10 | Bypass | 1.5 inches | 16-24 inches | SK5 steel | Not stated |
| YRTSH Lopper 18 | 9.5/10 | Anvil | 1.6 inches | 18 Inch | Alloy Steel | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
Acreage and terrain fit
Fiskars PowerGear 15
Fiskars Bypass 24
YRTSH Extendable 21-26
AIRAJ Extendable 16-24
YRTSH Lopper 18
Buying guide: choosing the best pruning loppers under 40
Anvil vs bypass
Anvil loppers close a blade against a flat surface and suit dry, dead growth in the Fiskars 15 inch listing, while bypass loppers slide two blades past each other and suit green growth in the Fiskars 24 inch listing. The YRTSH anvil listings also mention live branches, so read each listing, not the blade type alone.
Cut capacity
Cut capacities here are 1.25 inches, 1.5 inches and 1.6 inches. Match the capacity to the thickest branch on the property, and do not force a lopper past its stated cut.
Length and reach
Lengths here are 15 inches, 18 inches, 24 inches, and extendable ranges of 16-24 inches and 21-26 inches. A longer handle reaches higher branches, while a shorter handle is easier to move among bushes. Check the extendable figures, since one listing states two different ranges.
Blade material and grips
Blades here are alloy steel and SK5 steel, with low-friction or Teflon coatings on several picks. Grips are rubber, soft rubber, SoftGrip, or rubber and plastic, so grip feel differs across the picks.
Warranty and listing detail
Only one listing states a warranty term, the lifetime warranty on the Fiskars 15 inch pick. The other listings state no warranty term, so warranty scores are zero for those picks. Listing detail also varies, so a thin listing should not outrank a detailed one on brand alone.
Wear eye and hearing protection, long pants and sturdy footwear, and keep bystanders well back while the line or blade spins. Clear stones and debris first, and stop the engine or remove the battery before clearing the head. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See OSHA landscaping safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Matching It to Your Property
- For ground with bushes and obstacles, a bypass blade suits green growth and an anvil blade suits dry, dead growth, per the Fiskars listings.
- For tall branches, extendable handles adjust from 16 to 24 inches or 21 to 26 inches, per the extendable listings.
- For storage, fixed 15 inch and 18 inch handles take a shorter wall or shed spot than a 24 inch handle.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. A factor the listing does not state scores zero: warranty scores are zero except for the pick with a stated lifetime warranty, and safety scores are zero, since no listing states a safety certification.
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiskars PowerGear 15 | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 4 |
| Fiskars Bypass 24 | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| YRTSH Extendable 21-26 | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| AIRAJ Extendable 16-24 | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| YRTSH Lopper 18 | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
FAQ: mowing large lots
What is the difference between anvil and bypass loppers?
An anvil lopper closes a blade against a flat surface, while a bypass lopper slides two blades past each other. In these listings, the anvil Fiskars pick suits dry, dead growth, and the bypass Fiskars pick suits green growth.
What cut capacity do I need for thick branches?
Match the capacity to the branch: the largest cut here is 1.6 inches, while the Fiskars anvil pick cuts 1.25 inches and the bypass picks cut 1.5 inches. Do not force a lopper past its stated cut.
Are extendable loppers better for tall branches?
Extendable handles help reach: the AIRAJ pick adjusts from 16 to 24 inches, and the YRTSH pick is listed at 21-26 inches in its title and size, with a different range in its bullets. Check both figures before choosing an extendable pick.
Which lopper states a lifetime warranty?
The Fiskars PowerGear 15 anvil lopper states a lifetime warranty. The other listings state no warranty term.
More mowing guides
- Best Pruning Loppers for Thick Branches (2026): 5 Compared
- Best Pruning Loppers for Bushes (2026): 5 Compared
- Best Hedge Shears for Beginners (2026)
- Best Cordless Pruning Shears (2026): 4 Picks Compared
- Best Pruning Shears for Large Branches (2026)
- Best Hedge Trimmer for Tall Hedges (2026): 5 Picks Compared



