20v vs 40v Pole Saw: Which One Should You Buy?
A 20v vs 40v pole saw guide that weighs voltage against bar length, reach, weight and battery sharing before you pick a saw for overhead pruning.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Litheli 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Greenworks 40V Pole Saw and Hedge Trimmer Combo Kit9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Greenworks 40V 8 in Electric Pole Saw9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Greenworks 8-Inch 40V Pole Saw Attachment PS40A00View on Amazon - 5
Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1View on Amazon - 6
EGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOView on Amazon - 7
WEN 4019 6-Amp 8-Inch Electric Telescoping Pole SawView on Amazon - 8
Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableView on Amazon - 9
TrimmerPlus Pole Saw Attachment for Compatible Gas PoweredView on Amazon
Overhead branches do not wait for a convenient afternoon. Limbs hang over a drive, brush crowds a fence line, and a dead limb leans where the mower passes underneath. The saw that handles that work has to reach high enough, cut cleanly, and stay light enough to hold overhead without strain. This guide answers the 20v vs 40v pole saw question in plain terms: what voltage changes, what it does not change, and how to pick between the two platforms for a property with trees to keep.
Other machines to compare
Greenworks 8-Inch 40V Pole Saw Attachment PS40A00Check price on Amazon
Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1Check price on Amazon
EGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOCheck price on Amazon
WEN 4019 6-Amp 8-Inch Electric Telescoping Pole SawCheck price on Amazon
Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableCheck price on Amazon
TrimmerPlus Pole Saw Attachment for Compatible Gas PoweredCheck price on Amazon
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
20v vs 40v pole saw: what voltage does and does not decide
Voltage describes the battery platform, not the whole saw. A pole saw is a system: battery, motor, bar, chain, pole length and weight all shape how it cuts. Two saws on the same voltage can feel very different. Treat voltage as a starting point, not the decision itself.
A higher-voltage platform runs on a different battery family, but voltage alone does not make a saw right for heavy cutting or wrong for light pruning. The listing details decide: bar length, stated reach, stated weight, and whether a battery and charger are included.
| Platform | Suits | Watch for |
|---|---|---|
| 20V platform | Light to moderate pruning, and owners who already own matching batteries | Reach, bar length, and whether a battery is included |
| 40V platform | Judge any 40V saw by its own listing | Stated weight, and what the kit includes |
| Either platform | Any property where the saw matches the branches | Match the saw to the branches, not the voltage label alone |
See our gas vs electric pole saw guide for the wider choice between gas and battery power.
How to read a pole saw listing
Start with the branch, not the battery. Every saw in the gear section below carries an 8-inch bar. The BLACK+DECKER listing states a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inch, and the MILBIS listing states that its mini chainsaw powers through 8-inch logs.
Reach is stated in more than one way. The BLACK+DECKER listing gives a usable length of 6.5 ft. or 10 ft. and an overhead reach of up to 14 ft. The HEINPRO listing gives a 5.8-8.2 ft operating reach and a 14.2 ft max cutting height when fully assembled at shoulder height, measured with a 6 ft user. The MILBIS listing gives a telescoping pole that extends from 4.1 ft to 8.2 ft and reaches heights of up to 15 ft when fully extended. The DEWALT bundle states an extension pole of up to 15FT, which is a pole length rather than a reach figure. A longer pole helps only if the saw stays manageable at full extension.
Weight is stated for two of the four listings. The HEINPRO saw weighs 6.7 pounds, the lowest stated weight in this group, while the BLACK+DECKER saw weighs 10.1 pounds, the heaviest among the listings that state a weight. The DEWALT and MILBIS listings state no weight. For overhead work, a lighter saw with a shoulder strap can matter more than a longer pole.
Battery inclusion is the other figure that changes the purchase. The BLACK+DECKER kit includes a battery and charger, and the DEWALT bundle includes a 4 Ah battery and charger. The HEINPRO and MILBIS saws are bare tools: the battery is not included, and both listings state compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries. An owner who already owns matching batteries can buy the bare tool; an owner starting fresh needs the kit.
The gear: four 20V pole saws, ranked
The four saws below all run on 20V batteries, ranked by the strength of what their listings state: completeness of the kit, stated reach, stated features, and stated weight.
1. DEWALT bundle. The DEWALT bundle ranks first as the most complete kit in the group: an 8 inches bar, an extension pole of up to 15FT, a 4 Ah battery and a charger, plus a sheath and a multi-tool. The listing states a brushless motor, automatic lubrication, a metal handle, and a cutting grip with metal backing strips and tree hooks. It also lists 72 teeth and 80 watts. Weight is not stated.
2. BLACK+DECKER LPP120. The BLACK+DECKER kit ranks second as another complete kit: a battery and charger are included, with an oil bottle, a wrench and a blade guard. The listing states up to 100 cuts of 1 1/2-inch pine branches per charge, an 8-inch cutting bar, a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inch, a usable length of 6.5 ft. or 10 ft., and an overhead reach of up to 14 ft. It lists a brushless motor, a speed of 375 rpm, 11 teeth, and a 2 Year Limited Warranty. One contradiction to note: the listing title calls it a 14-inch saw while the bullets and spec table give an 8-inch bar, so this guide trusts the bullets and spec table.
3. MILBIS 4-in-1. The MILBIS combo ranks third on versatility: it pairs an 8-inch mini chainsaw with electric pruning shears on a telescoping pole that extends from 4.1 ft to 8.2 ft and reaches heights of up to 15 ft when fully extended. The head adjusts from 0 to 180 degrees, the chainsaw runs at 38 ft/s with a brushless motor, and the pruning shears run at 26,000 RPM. Automatic lubrication is stated, and the box includes a shoulder strap, safety glasses and work gloves. It is a bare tool, so the battery is not included, and weight is not stated.
4. HEINPRO. The HEINPRO saw ranks fourth as a bare tool with the battery not included, despite carrying the lowest stated weight at 6.7 pounds. The listing states an 8-inch guide bar, a 14.2 ft max cutting height, a 5.8-8.2 ft operating reach, automatic oiling, a dual-side safety lock trigger for left- and right-handed users, and a shoulder strap. Chain and bar specs are stated in full: 3/8″ pitch, 0.050″ gauge, and 33 drive links, with 7 teeth. For an owner who already owns DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, it is a sensible pick despite the last-place ranking.
Battery sharing: the quiet reason to stay on one platform
Voltage choice is also a battery choice. A 20V MAX battery from one maker does not run a saw from another maker unless the listing states compatibility, and the HEINPRO and MILBIS listings state compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries specifically. The BLACK+DECKER listing states that its saw is part of the 20V MAX system, which is its own battery family. Before moving to a 40V platform, count the batteries and chargers the move would add: a new platform means new packs. For occasional pruning, a 20V saw with a battery already on the shelf is often the practical pick.
Safety
Wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy shoes. Clear sticks, stones and other debris before cutting, and keep children, pets and bystanders away from the work area. Keep the bar away from fences, wires and anything the chain could catch, and follow the manual for chain tension and lubrication. Store the saw with its bar cover on.
FAQ: mowing large lots
Is a 20v vs 40v pole saw choice mostly about power?
No. Voltage is one part of a system that also includes the motor, bar, chain, pole length and weight. Compare bar length, stated reach, stated weight, and whether a battery and charger are included.
Should I buy a bare tool or a kit?
Buy the bare tool only if you already own matching batteries. The HEINPRO and MILBIS listings state compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and do not include a battery. Buy the kit if you are starting fresh: the BLACK+DECKER kit and the DEWALT bundle both include a battery and charger.
How much reach do I need for tall branches?
Match the stated reach to the branches, and remember that listings measure it differently. The MILBIS listing states a reach of up to 15 ft when fully extended, the HEINPRO listing states a 14.2 ft max cutting height, and the BLACK+DECKER listing states an overhead reach of up to 14 ft. The DEWALT bundle states an extension pole of up to 15FT, which is a pole length rather than a reach figure. Pick a saw whose stated reach covers the branches you cut most often.
Does a longer pole always cut better?
No. A longer pole adds reach but also adds leverage against the arms holding it, so a heavier saw at full extension tires the user faster. The lowest stated weight here belongs to the HEINPRO at 6.7 pounds, while the BLACK+DECKER at 10.1 pounds carries more weight overhead. Balance reach against stated weight, and use the shoulder strap where the listing includes one.



