Best Pole Saw for Small Trees (2026): 4 Picks Compared
Four pole saws for small-tree pruning, corded, battery and manual, compared by reach, bar length, cutting capacity and warranty, plus who should skip each one.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallJ-KU ML5803 Pole Saw9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best LightweightBLACK+DECKER LPP120B9.4/10View on Amazon - 3
Best CordedWEN 4019 Pole Saw9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Best ManualJAOTREL Manual Pole Saw9.3/10View on Amazon - 5
Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1View on Amazon - 6
EGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOView on Amazon - 7
Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableView on Amazon - 8
TrimmerPlus Pole Saw Attachment for Compatible Gas PoweredView on Amazon - 9
Sunseeker Pole Saw Attachment Universal Automatic LubricationView on Amazon - 10
12-inch Pole saw Attachment fits for ryobi family of BrandsView on Amazon
A small tree outgrows its easy reach in a few seasons. The limbs worth keeping sit just past comfortable arm height, and a ladder dragged out for every branch turns a morning chore into a hazard. The best pole saw for small trees keeps you on the ground: a saw at the end of a long pole that cuts cleanly overhead. We compared four pole saws from their Amazon listings, three powered saws and one manual saw, and scored each by reach, cutting capacity, build and warranty.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall J-KU ML5803 Pole Saw: 15 ft of reach, two 21V 4.0Ah batteries, 6 in brushless saw, spare bar included Check price on Amazon
- Best Lightweight BLACK+DECKER LPP120B: 6.3 lb cordless saw on the 20V MAX platform, up to 100 cuts per charge Check price on Amazon
- Best Corded WEN 4019 Pole Saw: 6-amp motor, 36 ft per second chain speed, 12 ft reach, two-year warranty Check price on Amazon
- Best Manual JAOTREL Manual Pole Saw: 7.5 ft of stainless steel pole with a manganese steel blade, no power needed Check price on Amazon
Our acreage picks

J-KU ML5803 2-in-1 Pole Saw with Two 21V Batteries
Cordless 2-in-1 pole saw and mini chainsaw with a 6 in bar, two 21V 4.0Ah batteries, and up to 15 ft of reach.
Who it's for: owners who want the longest reach here plus a handheld saw for shrubs.
Who should skip it: anyone who needs the weight stated.
Read the full review
The J-KU ML5803 is a 2-in-1 tool that switches between a handheld mini chainsaw and a pole saw, per the listing, with no extra tools required. It ships with two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, and the telescoping pole gives up to 15 ft of working reach. The brushless motor delivers strong, consistent torque with less noise and less maintenance than a brushed motor, per the listing, and the multi-angle head reaches branches above fences. Automatic chain oiling keeps the chain lubricated.
Pros
- Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a charger included, so a spare is always ready
- 15 ft of reach is the longest here; the pole extends to 9.4 ft
- Brushless motor, multi-angle cutting head and automatic chain oiling
- Switches to a handheld mini chainsaw in seconds, no tools needed
Cons
- No weight is stated, which matters at the end of a long pole
- Warranty is only Lifetime Support, with no concrete term
- 6 in bar is the smallest here; the others carry 8 in bars
- No per-charge cut count, unlike the BLACK+DECKER listing

BLACK+DECKER LPP120B 20V Max Cordless Pole Saw
Cordless 20V Max pole saw, 8 in bar, up to 14 ft of reach, 6.3 lb; battery and charger sold separately.
Who it's for: owners on the 20V MAX platform who want the lowest-weight pole saw here.
Who should skip it: anyone without a 20V MAX battery and charger.
Read the full review
The BLACK+DECKER LPP120B is a cordless 20V MAX pole saw sold tool only, battery and charger sold separately. It carries an 8 in bar and chain with a stated 6 in maximum cutting diameter, and the listing says it delivers up to 100 cuts of 1 1/2 in pine branches per charge. The center extension gives a usable length of 6.5 or 10 ft for up to 14 ft of reach, and the unit weighs 6.3 lb, the lowest stated here. It disassembles for storage.
Pros
- Lowest stated weight here at 6.3 lb
- Up to 100 cuts of 1 1/2 in pine per charge, per the listing
- 14 ft of reach with a 6.5 or 10 ft usable length
- Fits the 20V MAX system and swaps with other BLACK+DECKER tools
Cons
- Battery and charger sold separately; needs a 20V MAX battery on hand
- 6 in maximum cut is the smallest stated capacity here
- Chain speed is not stated, unlike the WEN and J-KU
- Usable length is shorter than the J-KU 15 ft reach

WEN 4019 6-Amp Corded Telescoping Pole Saw
Corded 6-amp telescoping pole saw with an 8 in bar and chain, tool-free chain adjustment, and up to 12 ft of reach.
Who it's for: owners pruning near an outlet who want no battery to charge or fuel to mix.
Who should skip it: anyone pruning far from power.
Read the full review
The WEN 4019 is a corded 6-amp pole saw with an 8 in bar and chain. The listing states the telescoping pole adjusts from 5.3 to 7.3 ft for up to 12 ft of overhead reach, and the motor rotates the chain up to 36 ft per second. It includes an 8 in saw chain, a blade cover, a shoulder strap and a two-year warranty, with tool-free chain adjustments. The listing contradicts itself on weight: 6.7 lb in the bullets against 7.2 lb in the spec table; the bullets are the safer reading.
Pros
- 6-amp motor with a 36 ft per second chain speed, the highest stated here
- Pole telescopes 5.3 to 7.3 ft for up to 12 ft of overhead reach
- Tool-free chain adjustments and a shoulder strap included
- Two-year warranty stated on the listing
Cons
- Needs an outlet within cord range, which limits big lots
- Weight is 6.7 lb in the bullets but 7.2 lb in the spec table
- Cutting diameter is not stated beyond the 8 in bar
- No battery option for spots past cord reach

JAOTREL Manual 7.5 ft Pole Pruning Saw
Manual 7.5 ft pole pruning saw with a manganese steel blade and stainless steel sections; no power needed.
Who it's for: owners who want the simplest tool, no charging, fuel or cord, for light pruning.
Who should skip it: anyone facing heavy or frequent limb work, where a powered pick earns its keep.
Read the full review
The JAOTREL is the only manual pick: a stainless steel pole that assembles from 1.3 ft sections to 7.5 ft, with a manganese steel blade the listing describes as a sharp three-sided edge with a double barbed design. The pole adjusts for length or works handheld for lower trimming, per the listing. It states a satisfaction promise but no warranty term with a concrete period, and no cutting capacity.
Pros
- No battery, fuel or cord: it cuts wherever you carry it
- Manganese steel blade with a three-sided sharp edge, double barbed
- Stainless steel pole sections resist rust, per the listing
- Handheld for lower trimming as well as pole use up high
Cons
- Every cut is arm power, so it tires faster than any powered pick
- No warranty term is stated, only a satisfaction promise
- No cutting capacity figure is stated on the listing
- Assembly takes a few steps with multiple sections, per the listing
Other machines to compare
Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1Check price on Amazon
EGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOCheck price on Amazon
Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableCheck price on Amazon
TrimmerPlus Pole Saw Attachment for Compatible Gas PoweredCheck price on Amazon
Sunseeker Pole Saw Attachment Universal Automatic LubricationCheck price on Amazon
12-inch Pole saw Attachment fits for ryobi family of BrandsCheck price on Amazon
Side-by-side specs
| Model | Acre Score | Power | Reach | Bar | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J-KU ML5803 Pole Saw | 9.6/10 | Battery, 21V 2 x 4.0Ah, brushless, 800W | 15 ft | 6 in bar and chain | Lifetime support |
| BLACK+DECKER LPP120B | 9.4/10 | Battery, 20V MAX, tool only | 14 ft | 8 in bar, 6 in max cut | Two-year limited warranty |
| WEN 4019 Pole Saw | 9.4/10 | Corded electric, 6-amp | 12 ft | 8 in bar and chain | Not stated |
| JAOTREL Manual Pole Saw | 9.3/10 | Manual | 7.5 ft | Manual pruning blade | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
Acreage and terrain fit
J-KU ML5803 Pole Saw
BLACK+DECKER LPP120B
WEN 4019 Pole Saw
JAOTREL Manual Pole Saw
Buying guide: choosing the best pole saw for small trees
How much reach small trees need
Reach is the first filter: a pole saw that cannot get to the limb is a heavy stick. The four picks state reaches from 7.5 to 15 ft: the J-KU up to 15 ft, the BLACK+DECKER up to 14 ft, the WEN up to 12 ft, and the manual JAOTREL 7.5 ft. The three powered picks clear small-tree limbs; the manual pick suits lower ones. For taller trees, see our roundup of the best long pole saw.
Corded, battery or manual
The WEN runs on a cord: no charge needed, but no leaving cord range; it suits pruning near buildings. The BLACK+DECKER is tool only, so bring a 20V MAX battery and charger. The J-KU includes two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a charger. The JAOTREL is manual, no power at all. Match the power source to where you prune.
Bar length and cutting capacity
Bar length sets the limit. The WEN and BLACK+DECKER carry 8 in bars, and BLACK+DECKER states a 6 in maximum cutting diameter. The J-KU carries a 6 in bar with a spare in the box. The JAOTREL lists no capacity. For small trees, a 6 to 8 in bar handles the limbs you should cut from the ground.
Chain speed, chain oil and upkeep
The WEN states 36 ft per second, the J-KU 26.2 ft per second, and the BLACK+DECKER states no chain speed. The J-KU oils its chain automatically; the WEN adjusts its chain without tools. The manual JAOTREL needs nothing.
Weight and balance on a long pole
Two listings state a weight: 6.3 lb for the BLACK+DECKER, and 6.7 lb in the WEN bullets against 7.2 lb in its spec table, a contradiction we note in its review. The J-KU states no weight, which matters at 15 ft of reach.
Storage and transport
The BLACK+DECKER disassembles for storage and transport. The J-KU shortens into a handheld mini chainsaw. The WEN telescopes down, and the JAOTREL breaks into 1.3 ft sections. All four store easily in a shed or garage.
Wear eye and hearing protection, long pants and sturdy footwear, and keep bystanders well back while the line or blade spins. Clear stones and debris first, and stop the engine or remove the battery before clearing the head. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See OSHA landscaping safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Matching It to Your Property
- The three powered picks each state at least 12 ft of reach, so you prune from the ground on flat lots and among obstacles.
- For wooded edges, the J-KU converts to a handheld mini chainsaw, and the JAOTREL pole works handheld for lower limbs.
- Pruning near buildings favors the corded WEN; the battery picks go anywhere on the property.
- For shed storage, the BLACK+DECKER disassembles, the JAOTREL breaks into sections, and the WEN telescopes down.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance (reach and cutting capacity), build quality (bar, blade and pole materials), value (features against what the listing promises), safety (stated safety features), and warranty (terms and coverage).
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J-KU ML5803 Pole Saw | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| BLACK+DECKER LPP120B | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
| WEN 4019 Pole Saw | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| JAOTREL Manual Pole Saw | 9.3 | 21 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: mowing large lots
What size pole saw do I need for small trees?
Reach matters more than power. The picks state 7.5 to 15 ft; for small trees, the three powered picks reach the limbs you should cut from the ground.
Can a pole saw cut limbs thicker than its bar?
Plan by the bar length: 8 in on the WEN and BLACK+DECKER, 6 in on the J-KU, and only BLACK+DECKER states a maximum cut, 6 in. Thicker limbs need a bigger saw.
Corded or cordless pole saw for a yard?
Near the house, the corded WEN never runs out but never leaves cord range. The BLACK+DECKER is tool only, so bring a 20V MAX battery; the J-KU includes two 21V batteries.
Is a manual pole saw worth it?
For light pruning on a few small trees, the manual JAOTREL needs no charging, fuel or cord. It tires arms faster than any powered saw, so it suits a little pruning at a time.
Do I need a ladder with a pole saw?
That is the point of the tool: all four are meant for use from the ground. If a limb is past the longest reach here, leave it to a bigger saw.
More mowing guides
- Best Cordless Pole Saw for Pruning (2026): 5 Battery Picks
- Best Gas Powered Pole Saw (2026): 4 Picks Compared
- Best Long Pole Saw (2026)
- Best Pole Saw for Storm Damage (2026): 5 Picks
- Best Pole Saw Under $130 (2026)
- Best Pole Saw for Palm Trees (2026)
- Best Pole Saw for Women (2026): 5 Lightweight Battery Picks



