Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Pruning Shears with Extension (2026): 5 Picks Compared

5 cordless pruning shears with extension poles, from 5.4-9.2 ft to 16 ft of reach, ranked by cut, battery, kit and warranty.

Best Pruning Shears with Extension (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Seesii PS040ProBest OverallSeesii PS040Pro9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Seesii PS051ProBest Cutting DiameterSeesii PS051Pro9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3BuyJoy 4-in-1 KitBest KitBuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4OFISPEED Pole PrunerBest LightweightOFISPEED Pole Pruner9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Supstable 4-in-1 KitBest ReachSupstable 4-in-1 Kit9.5/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Kynup Pruning ShearsKynup Pruning ShearsView on Amazon
  7. 7MEPEREZ-Labor Saving Pruning ShearsMEPEREZ-Labor Saving Pruning ShearsView on Amazon
  8. 8Ultra Sharp Japanese Steel Pruning ShearsUltra Sharp Japanese Steel Pruning ShearsView on Amazon
  9. 92-Pack Stainless Steel Gardening Scissors2-Pack Stainless Steel Gardening ScissorsView on Amazon
  10. 10Amazon Basics Professional Bypass Pruning ShearsAmazon Basics Professional Bypass Pruning ShearsView on Amazon

When a branch hangs just past arm’s reach, a ladder is the risky answer and a handheld shear is the short one. The best pruning shears with extension put the blade on a pole, so feet stay on the ground and the cut stays clean. This guide compares cordless pole pruning shears and combo kits from maker listings, weighing reach, cutting diameter, battery and kit contents against the trees they must handle.

AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Seesii PS040Pro: Only pick here with a stated 1-year warranty and 4000+ cuts Check price on Amazon
  • Best Cutting Diameter Seesii PS051Pro: Widest shear cut here at 2.2 inches with a work light Check price on Amazon
  • Best Kit BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit: Pole saw plus shears with a 9.5 ft reach Check price on Amazon
  • Best Lightweight OFISPEED Pole Pruner: Lowest stated weight at 2.1 lbs with an LCD screen Check price on Amazon
  • Best Reach Supstable 4-in-1 Kit: Longest reach here at 16 ft with a 6 inch pole saw Check price on Amazon

Our acreage picks

Seesii PS040Pro 1.6 In Pole Pruning Shears with 1-Year Warranty

Seesii PS040Pro 1.6 In Pole Pruning Shears with 1-Year Warranty

Seesii9.6/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

2-in-1 pole pruning shears with a 1.6 inch cut, dual 4.0Ah batteries, and a stated 1-year warranty.

Read the full review

The Seesii PS040Pro switches between handheld pruning and pole mode, with a telescopic pole spanning 4.9-9 ft and a 180 degree rotating head for vertical, angled and side branches. It cuts branches to 1.6 inches with a 2.2 inch jaw opening, runs on dual 4.0Ah batteries rated for 4000+ cuts per charge, and offers 4 cutting modes. The kit adds an extra SK5 blade, a shoulder strap and a sharpening stone.

Pros

  • Stated 1-year warranty, the only one here
  • 4000+ cuts per charge from dual 4.0Ah batteries
  • 4 modes match branch diameters
  • Extra SK5 blade and shoulder strap in the kit

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No motor wattage is stated
  • Pole range tops out at 9 ft, below the 16 ft and 9.5 ft picks
  • No work light or display for low light work
Seesii PS051Pro 2.2 In Pole Pruning Shears with Work Light

Seesii PS051Pro 2.2 In Pole Pruning Shears with Work Light

Seesii9.5/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

2-in-1 pole pruning shears with a 2.2 inch cut, a work light, and a digital display for battery and cut count.

Read the full review

The Seesii PS051Pro works as a standalone shear or on an extendable pole reaching 9 ft, cutting branches to 2.2 inches with a 3.2 inch blade opening. It offers 4 cutting modes for diameters of 0.6, 1.4, 1.8 and 2.2 inches, runs on dual 4.0Ah batteries rated for 4000+ cuts per charge, and adds a work light and a digital display.

Pros

  • Widest shear cut here at 2.2 inches
  • Built-in work light for dim or shaded areas
  • Digital display shows battery life and cut count
  • 4000+ cuts per charge from dual 4.0Ah batteries

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No weight is stated
  • No charging time is stated
  • No telescoping range is stated, only a 9 ft reach
BuyJoy 4-in-1 Pole Saw and Pruning Shears Kit

BuyJoy 4-in-1 Pole Saw and Pruning Shears Kit

BuyJoy9.5/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

4-in-1 kit pairing a 6 inch pole saw with electric pruning shears on a 9.5 ft telescoping pole.

Read the full review

The BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit combines a 6 inch cordless pole saw, electric pruning shears, a telescoping pole and 2 batteries. The pole reaches 9.5 ft, the shears cut to 1.4 inches with an SK5 blade, and the saw delivers 1000W with a 26.2 ft/s chain speed for 5-6 inch branches. An automatic oiling system lubricates the chain, and an LED display shows battery level and cut count.

Pros

  • Pole saw plus shears cover thin twigs to 5-6 inch limbs
  • 9.5 ft telescoping pole trims from the ground
  • Automatic oiling keeps the saw chain lubricated
  • LED display shows battery level and cut count

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No cuts-per-charge figure is stated
  • Shear cut of 1.4 inches trails the 1.6 and 2.2 inch picks
  • No charging time is stated
OFISPEED 2-in-1 Pole Pruning Shears with LCD Screen

OFISPEED 2-in-1 Pole Pruning Shears with LCD Screen

OFISPEED9.5/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

2-in-1 pole pruning shears with a 1.6 inch cut, a 5.4-9.2 ft reach, and an LCD screen, at 2.1 lbs.

Read the full review

The OFISPEED Pole Pruner switches between handheld and pole modes across 5.4-9.2 ft, cutting branches to 1.6 inches with 4 diameters of 0.4, 0.6, 1 and 1.6 inches. It runs on dual 4.0Ah batteries rated for over 800 cuts per charge, charges in 2-3 hours, and weighs 2.1 lbs with a non-slip rubber handle. An LCD screen shows battery level and cut count.

Pros

  • Lowest stated weight here at 2.1 lbs
  • LCD screen shows battery level and cut count
  • 4 cutting diameters from 0.4 to 1.6 inches
  • Full charge in 2-3 hours per the listing

Cons

  • Lowest cuts-per-charge figure here at 800+
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Reach tops out at 9.2 ft, below the 9.5 ft and 16 ft picks
  • Auto sleep after 60 seconds and shutdown after 5 minutes may interrupt slow work
Supstable 4-in-1 Pole Saw and Pruning Shears Combo

Supstable 4-in-1 Pole Saw and Pruning Shears Combo

Supstable9.5/10 Acre Score
i
The Acre Score (out of 100, shown as /10) weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty. How we score

4-in-1 combo with a 6 inch pole saw and electric pruning shears on a pole reaching 16 ft.

Read the full review

The Supstable 4-in-1 Kit pairs a 6 inch pole chainsaw with electric pruning shears on a pole reaching 16 ft, so tall branches can be trimmed from the ground. The shears cut branches to 1.2 inches with SK5 steel blades, and the saw cuts limbs to 6 inches with an automatic oiler. It runs on dual 21V 4000mAh batteries with a 600W brushless motor. Note the power figure: the bullets say 600W while the spec table lists 1000 watts, so this article uses the bullets figure.

Pros

  • Longest reach here at 16 ft working height
  • Pole saw cuts branches to 6 inches
  • Automatic oiler keeps the chain lubricated
  • Shears plus saw cover vines to thick limbs

Cons

  • Smallest shear cut here at 1.2 inches
  • Bullets say 600W while the spec table lists 1000 watts for power
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No cuts-per-charge figure is stated

Other machines to compare

Side-by-side specs

Model Acre Score Shear cut Reach Batteries Cuts per charge Motor
Seesii PS040Pro 9.6/10 1.6 inches 4.9-9 ft 2 x 4.0Ah 4000+ Brushless
Seesii PS051Pro 9.5/10 2.2 inches 9 ft 2 x 4.0Ah 4000+ Brushless
BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit 9.5/10 1.4 inches 9.5 ft 2 x 21V 4.0Ah Not stated 1000W brushless
OFISPEED Pole Pruner 9.5/10 1.6 inches 5.4-9.2 ft 2 x 4.0Ah 800+ 1000W brushless
Supstable 4-in-1 Kit 9.5/10 1.2 inches 16 ft 2 x 21V 4000mAh Not stated 600W brushless

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

Acreage and terrain fit

Seesii PS040Pro

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Seesii PS051Pro

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

OFISPEED Pole Pruner

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

Supstable 4-in-1 Kit

Acreage fitUnder 11-22-55-1010+
Terrain fitFlatTrees and beds

How to choose the best pruning shears with extension

Reach against ladder work

Reach is the reason to buy a pole pruner, and the spread here is wide. The Supstable 4-in-1 Kit reaches 16 ft, the BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit reaches 9.5 ft, the Seesii PS051Pro reaches 9 ft, the Seesii PS040Pro spans 4.9-9 ft, and the OFISPEED Pole Pruner spans 5.4-9.2 ft. All five trim from the ground, so match the pole to the tallest branches you cut. For saw-first work at height, see cordless pole saws for pruning.

Cutting diameter and cutting modes

Shear cut decides which branches the shears handle and which need the saw. The Seesii PS051Pro cuts to 2.2 inches, the Seesii PS040Pro and the OFISPEED Pole Pruner cut to 1.6 inches, the BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit cuts to 1.4 inches, and the Supstable 4-in-1 Kit cuts to 1.2 inches. The Seesii and OFISPEED picks offer 4 cutting modes for smaller stems. For limbs past shear range, the combo kits add a 6 inch saw, cutting to 6 inches on the Supstable pick and 5-6 inches on the BuyJoy pick. For fruit trees specifically, see pole saws for fruit trees.

Batteries and cuts per charge

Every pick here runs on dual batteries, so the difference is cut count, not battery count. The Seesii PS040Pro and PS051Pro each run on dual 4.0Ah batteries rated for 4000+ cuts per charge, while the OFISPEED Pole Pruner runs on dual 4.0Ah batteries rated for over 800 cuts per charge. The Supstable and BuyJoy kits do not state a cuts-per-charge figure; both run on dual 21V batteries. The OFISPEED pick lists a 2-3 hour charge time, while the other listings do not state one. For carry-first pruning without a pole, see cordless pruning shears.

Kit extras that matter

Extras decide how the tool feels over a long session. The Seesii PS051Pro adds a work light for dim areas, while the Seesii PS040Pro, Seesii PS051Pro, BuyJoy and OFISPEED picks add a display or screen for battery level and cut count. The Seesii PS040Pro and OFISPEED kits add an extra blade and a sharpening stone, and the combo kits add an automatic oiler for the saw chain.

Mowing safety

Read the manual, keep children and pets out of the yard while you work, wear eye and hearing protection and sturdy footwear, and never exceed the slope rating of your machine. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC lawn mower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Matching It to Your Property

  • Tall trees: the Supstable pick reaches 16 ft from the ground.
  • Orchards and shrubs: the Seesii picks with 4 modes match small stems and fruit tree branches.
  • Tight storage: the handheld shears detach from their poles for shed storage.
  • Low light: the Seesii PS051Pro work light covers dim or shaded cutting.
  • Thick limbs: the combo kits add a 6 inch pole saw for branches past shear range.

The Acre Score explained

The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance, build quality, value, safety and warranty. Performance covers reach, cutting diameter and battery as listed; build covers blade, pole and kit construction. Safety scores only where a listing states a safety feature, and warranty scores only where a listing states a concrete term. One pick here states a warranty term, so warranty adds to a single score in this group.

Product Acre Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Seesii PS040Pro 9.6 30 21 21 0 3
Seesii PS051Pro 9.5 32 22 21 0 0
BuyJoy 4-in-1 Kit 9.5 30 21 21 0 0
OFISPEED Pole Pruner 9.5 29 21 21 0 0
Supstable 4-in-1 Kit 9.5 30 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

FAQ: mowing large lots

How far can pole pruning shears reach?

Reach stated here runs from 5.4-9.2 ft on the OFISPEED pick to 16 ft on the Supstable pick.

What cutting diameter do I need?

Shear cuts stated here run from 1.2 inches on the Supstable pick to 2.2 inches on the Seesii PS051Pro pick, while the combo kit saws cut 5-6 inch branches.

How many cuts per charge do these shears manage?

The Seesii picks are rated for 4000+ cuts per charge, the OFISPEED pick for over 800, and the Supstable and BuyJoy kits state no figure.

Do these shears need a ladder?

No, the pole modes reach from the ground: 16 ft on the Supstable pick, 9.5 ft on the BuyJoy pick, and 9 ft on the Seesii picks.

What is included for blade care?

The Seesii PS040Pro and OFISPEED kits each include an extra blade and a sharpening stone.

More mowing guides

See all Trimmers and Blowers guides for more yard tools.

More buying guides