Best Battery for Zero Turn Mower (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five batteries for zero-turn mowers compared across lithium LiFePO4 and AGM types: cold cranking amps, group size, weight, and warranty evaluated.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallWEIZE 12.8V Lithium U19.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best AGM Group U1MARXON U1 12V 330CCA9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Compact ULMighty Max ML9-12NB9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best for Cub CadetCub Cadet 725P173359.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best for AriensAriens 04738800 OEM9.3/10View on Amazon - 6
UPLUS U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon - 7
DKLU1 Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon - 8
DKLU1-M Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon - 9
DKLU1R Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon - 10
U-R9 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryView on Amazon
Starting a zero-turn lawn mower requires immediate, dependable electrical power from a 12-volt battery to turn over mower engines. Finding the best battery for zero turn mower models means comparing cold cranking amps, physical case dimensions, vibration tolerance, and warranty coverage across modern lithium LiFePO4 and sealed lead-acid AGM technologies. This guide evaluates five replacement batteries, examining how each listing performs across standard BCI Group U1 trays and OEM specifications while noting missing figures and listing contradictions.
AcreMowerLab earns a commission when you shop through links here. It never changes your price. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall WEIZE 12.8V Lithium U1: Highest Acre Score here: 12.8V LiFePO4 chemistry, up to 480 CCA, and a 5-year bullet warranty at 5.09 lb Check price on Amazon
- Best AGM Group U1 MARXON U1 12V 330CCA: Standard Group U1 dimensions with 330 CCA and a stated 15-month warranty Check price on Amazon
- Best Compact UL Mighty Max ML9-12NB: Only pick with a stated UL certification, offering a compact 12V 9Ah AGM build with a 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
- Best for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 725P17335: Genuine OEM factory AGM battery specified for Cub Cadet Ultima ZTX series zero-turn mowers Check price on Amazon
- Best for Ariens Ariens 04738800 OEM: Genuine OEM replacement battery designed specifically for Ariens IKON, IKON XD, and EDGE zero-turn mowers Check price on Amazon
Our acreage picks

WEIZE 12.8V 8Ah Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower Battery (BCI Group U1)
Lithium LiFePO4 Group U1 battery delivering 12.8V with up to 480 CCA and a 5-year bullet warranty.
Who it's for: zero-turn mower owners who want high cranking power, reduced front-end weight, and a long manufacturer warranty term on a standard U1 tray.
Who should skip it: buyers who prefer established lead-acid technology or who want a listing without spec contradictions.
Read the full review
The WEIZE BCI Group U1 battery uses lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) chemistry to supply 12.8 volts for riding and zero-turn lawn mowers. The listing shows two internal contradictions: the title states 400 Cold Cranking Amps while the bullet points cite 480 CCA, and the bullets state a 5-year warranty while the spec table shows a 2-year warranty. Per site guidelines, we note the bullet claims first. At 5.09 lb (5.1 lb in the spec table), it weighs significantly less than conventional lead-acid batteries. Stated dimensions are 7.68 inches long, 5.12 inches wide, and 6.3 inches high (7.1 inches total height), with nut-and-bolt terminals oriented with positive on the left and negative on the right. The listing cautions against opening, crushing, or heating above 60 degrees Celsius.
Pros
- LiFePO4 lithium chemistry provides steady 12.8V starting power
- Highest stated cold cranking amps in this group at 400 to 480 CCA
- Lightweight at 5.09 lb, roughly half the weight of traditional lead-acid options
- Standard BCI Group U1 dimensions fit popular John Deere, Toro, Cub Cadet, and Craftsman mowers
Cons
- Contradiction in cold cranking amps: listing title states 400 CCA while bullets state 480 CCA
- Warranty discrepancy: bullets state 5 years while the spec table lists 2 years
- Requires an operating environment not heated above the manufacturer limit of 60 degrees Celsius
- No safety certifications such as UL or ETL are stated on the listing

MARXON U1 12V 330CCA Sealed Lead Acid AGM Lawn Mower Battery
Maintenance-free 12V AGM Group U1 battery with 330 CCA, shockproof casing, and a 15-month warranty.
Who it's for: zero-turn owners looking for a direct-fit Group U1 AGM battery with strong cranking power and a 15-month warranty.
Who should skip it: owners who want verified amp-hour capacity figures or a lighter lithium pack.
Read the full review
The MARXON U1-330 is a 12-volt sealed lead-acid AGM battery built to Group U1 dimensions. The title and bullets list 330 Cold Cranking Amps, though the spec table names the item as 320cca and notes amperage at 250 A. Following our rule to trust title and bullets, we score it based on 330 CCA. The case measures 7.68 inches long, 4.92 inches wide, and 6.14 inches high, with left-positive polarity, and includes terminal screws. The listing states a 15-month warranty supported by US offices. It does not state an amp-hour capacity or total weight, and the spec table contains clerical errors listing yard mowers under phone models.
Pros
- Delivers 330 cold cranking amps to turn over zero-turn mower engines
- Spill-proof sealed AGM construction with shockproof casing for vibration resistance
- Comes with a stated 15-month warranty and US warehouse support
- Broad stated compatibility across major zero-turn brands including Ariens, Gravely, Hustler, and Scag
Cons
- Contradiction in CCA: title and bullets state 330 CCA while spec table states 320 CCA and 250 A amperage
- Amp-hour capacity and item weight are not stated on the listing
- Spec table contains clerical errors listing phone models and antenna locations
- No safety certifications such as UL or ETL are listed

Mighty Max Battery ML9-12NB 12 Volt 9Ah SLA AGM Battery
Compact 12V 9Ah sealed AGM battery with UL Certification and nut-and-bolt terminals.
Who it's for: owners of smaller equipment or specialized zero-turns with compact battery trays who prioritize a verified UL safety listing.
Who should skip it: anyone needing a drop-in Group U1 size or published high cold-cranking amps for a large commercial engine.
Read the full review
The Mighty Max ML9-12NB is a 12-volt, 9Ah sealed lead-acid AGM battery. It is the only unit in this comparison that publishes a formal safety certification, explicitly listing UL Certified in the bullet points. It measures 5.94 inches deep, 2.56 inches wide, and 3.94 inches high, with a weight of 5.2 pounds. The listing specifies nut-and-bolt terminals, spill-proof construction that operates in any position, and a full 1-year warranty. However, the listing does not state a cold cranking amps figure, and the spec table lists ATV compatibility rather than lawn equipment, so buyers must verify engine starting requirements.
Pros
- Only battery in this group with a stated UL safety certification
- Compact dimensions of 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.94 inches fit tight battery compartments
- Lightweight 5.2 lb sealed AGM design mounts in any position
- Backed by a published 1-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- Cold cranking amps are not stated on the listing
- Significantly smaller than standard BCI Group U1 trays, requiring custom padding or brackets
- Spec table lists compatible vehicle type as ATV rather than zero-turn mowers
- Does not include a wire harness or mounting hardware

Cub Cadet 725P17335 12V 210 CCA 11Ah AGM Zero-Turn Battery
Genuine OEM factory AGM battery delivering 210 CCA and 11 Ah for Cub Cadet ZTX zero-turn mowers.
Who it's for: Cub Cadet zero-turn owners who want an authentic factory replacement that matches OEM wiring and tray specifications.
Who should skip it: owners looking for a longer warranty term than 3 months or higher cold cranking amps for cold starts.
Read the full review
The Cub Cadet 725P17335 (part number 490-280-F017) is an authentic OEM replacement battery for Cub Cadet machinery. The listing specifically lists compatibility with ZTX4, ZTX5, and ZTX6 zero-turn mowers (covering 48, 54, and 60 inch decks) as well as the XT1-LT42 lawn tractor. It provides 12 volts, 210 Cold Cranking Amps, and 11 Ah of capacity using Absorbent Glass Mat technology. The listing states an item weight of 8.8 pounds and notes high vibration resistance. Stated warranty in the spec table is 3 months. Physical case dimensions are not stated in the listing.
Pros
- Genuine OEM factory part engineered specifically for Cub Cadet ZTX zero-turn series
- Publishes both 210 cold cranking amps and 11 Ah capacity ratings
- Absorbent Glass Mat design resists vibration and holds charge during storage
- Solid 8.8 lb construction designed for factory terminal and tray alignment
Cons
- Warranty term is limited to 3 months per the spec table
- Dimensions are not stated on the listing
- Lower cold cranking amps at 210 CCA than aftermarket Group U1 alternatives
- No safety certifications such as UL or ETL are listed

Ariens 04738800 12 Volt Starting Battery for IKON and EDGE Zero-Turn Mowers
Genuine Ariens OEM 12V starting battery engineered for IKON, IKON XD, and EDGE zero-turn mowers.
Who it's for: owners of Ariens IKON or EDGE zero-turn mowers who want direct fitment with original factory brackets and cables.
Who should skip it: buyers who want published cold-cranking figures, stated case dimensions, or a listed manufacturer warranty.
Read the full review
The Ariens 04738800 is an official 12-volt OEM starting battery specified for Ariens zero-turn mowers, including the EDGE series and IKON / IKON XD models with 42 and 52 inch decks. The listing highlights a vibration and heat resistant outer case designed to handle the warmth and shaking under the seat pan. It states the battery drops directly into the stock tray using original cables and hold-downs, noting the replacement requires 1 wrench and 10 minutes. However, the listing omits critical numerical specifications: cold cranking amps, amp-hour capacity, exterior dimensions, and weight are not stated. In addition, no warranty term is stated in the listing.
Pros
- Genuine Ariens factory part engineered for IKON, IKON XD, and EDGE zero-turn mowers
- Drops into the stock battery tray and reuses original hold-down hardware and cables
- Listing notes the swap takes 1 wrench and 10 minutes
- Vibration and heat resistant casing designed for zero-turn seat pan environments
Cons
- No warranty term is stated on the listing
- Cold cranking amps and amp-hour capacity are not stated
- Physical dimensions and item weight are not stated
- No safety certifications such as UL or ETL are listed
Other machines to compare
UPLUS U1 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
DKLU1 Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
DKLU1-M Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
DKLU1R Group U1 Lithium LiFePO4 Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
U-R9 Riding Lawn Mower BatteryCheck price on Amazon
Side-by-side specs
| Model | Acre Score | Battery type | Voltage | Cold cranking amps | Capacity | Dimensions | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WEIZE 12.8V Lithium U1 | 9.6/10 | LiFePO4 Lithium | 12.8V | 400 CCA (title) / 480 CCA (bullets) | 8 Ah | 7.68 x 5.12 x 6.3 in | 5 years (bullets) / 2 years (spec table) |
| MARXON U1-330 AGM | 9.5/10 | SLA AGM | 12V | 330 CCA (title and bullets) / 320 CCA (spec table) | Not stated | 7.68 x 4.92 x 6.14 in | 15 months |
| Mighty Max ML9-12NB | 9.5/10 | SLA AGM | 12V | Not stated | 9 Ah | 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.94 in | 1 year |
| Cub Cadet 725P17335 OEM | 9.5/10 | AGM | 12V | 210 CCA | 11 Ah | Not stated | 3 months |
| Ariens 04738800 OEM | 9.3/10 | Lead-Acid (Not stated in listing) | 12V | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 9 October 2026.
Acreage and terrain fit
WEIZE 12.8V Lithium U1
MARXON U1 12V 330CCA
Mighty Max ML9-12NB
Cub Cadet 725P17335 OEM
Ariens 04738800 OEM
Buying guide: choosing the best battery for zero turn mower
BCI Group U1 vs compact sizes
Many zero-turn mowers use a BCI Group U1 battery tray. The WEIZE listing states dimensions of 7.68 inches long, 5.12 inches wide, and 6.3 inches high (7.1 inches total height), while the MARXON listing gives 7.68 inches by 4.92 inches by 6.14 inches. Both fit Group U1 trays. In contrast, the Mighty Max listing gives dimensions of 5.94 inches by 2.56 inches by 3.94 inches, which is much smaller than a standard Group U1 tray and will need brackets or padding to fit properly. The Ariens and Cub Cadet listings do not state case dimensions. Always measure your battery tray before buying.
Cold cranking amps and engine starting
Cold cranking amps measure starting current to turn over the mower engine. Stated cranking figures in this group range from 210 CCA on the Cub Cadet listing to 330 CCA on the MARXON listing (320 CCA in its spec table) and up to 400 CCA or 480 CCA on the WEIZE listing. The Ariens and Mighty Max listings do not state cold cranking amps. If you mow with a large engine or start in cool weather, verify the engine starter requirements before selecting a battery that omits cranking figures.
Lithium LiFePO4 vs sealed AGM technology
Traditional mower batteries use Absorbent Glass Mat (AGM) sealed lead-acid construction, suspending acid in fiberglass mats to prevent leaks during sharp zero-turn maneuvers. Lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) offers a modern alternative. The WEIZE lithium pack weighs 5.09 lb, roughly half the 8.8 lb of the Cub Cadet AGM battery. Lithium maintains a flatter discharge voltage curve and provides a longer stated service life, but requires adherence to manufacturer temperature limits; the WEIZE listing instructs owners not to heat the battery above 60 degrees Celsius.
Terminal orientation and installation
Zero-turn battery cables are short and offer little slack. Inspect whether your mower requires left-positive or right-positive terminal orientation. The WEIZE and MARXON models feature positive terminals on the left side, which matches standard Group U1 layouts. Hardware style also matters: nut-and-bolt (NB) terminals require compatible bolt lugs rather than automotive post clamps. The Ariens OEM battery highlights a swap that takes 1 wrench and 10 minutes by reusing factory hold-down brackets and cables.
Off-season maintenance and charging
Mower batteries drain slowly during winter inactivity. Sealed lead-acid and AGM batteries should be disconnected or connected to a smart float charger to prevent sulfation when parked in unheated sheds. Lithium LiFePO4 batteries have low self-discharge rates but must never be charged in temperatures below freezing unless specified by the manufacturer.
Zero-turn operation and slope safety
When servicing battery compartments, always disconnect the negative terminal first to avoid accidental short circuits against the frame. While mowing, keep in mind that zero-turn mowers steer via independent rear wheel drive and can lose traction on damp inclines or near ditches and retention ponds. Always follow the manufacturer slope limit in your machine manual, keep children and pets off the lawn, and disengage mower blades when driving in reverse.
Lawn size, deck width and speed in; minutes per mow out. Or work backward from the time you want to spend.
Zero-turns steer and brake through the rear wheels, so they can lose traction on slopes, wet grass and near ponds, ditches and drop-offs. Stay within the slope rating in your manual, keep well back from water and edges, use the ROPS and seat belt, never carry passengers, keep children and pets out of the yard, and disengage the blades before reversing. Refuel only with the engine off and cool. See CPSC riding lawnmower safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
The Acre Score explained
The Acre Score weighs five factors: performance (cold cranking amps and electrical stability), build quality (vibration resistance and casing materials), value (features relative to stated specifications), safety (safety certifications such as UL listings), and warranty (stated manufacturer coverage term).
| Product | Acre Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WEIZE 12.8V Lithium U1 | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 22 | 0 | 4 |
| MARXON U1 12V 330CCA | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| Mighty Max ML9-12NB | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| Cub Cadet 725P17335 | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 1 |
| Ariens 04738800 OEM | 9.3 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: mowing large lots
What size battery for zero turn mower?
Many zero-turn mowers use a 12-volt BCI Group U1 battery. In this group, the WEIZE listing states dimensions of 7.68 inches long, 5.12 inches wide, and 6.3 inches high, while the MARXON listing states 7.68 inches by 4.92 inches by 6.14 inches. Check your machine manual to confirm tray dimensions and whether the positive terminal sits on the left or right side.
What charges the battery on a zero turn mower?
The mower engine charges its battery while running. An internal stator generates alternating current, and a regulator-rectifier converts it to direct current to recharge the 12-volt battery during mowing.
How many cold cranking amps does a zero-turn mower need?
Cranking requirements depend on engine size. In this comparison, stated cranking ratings range from 210 CCA on the Cub Cadet battery to 330 CCA on the MARXON battery (320 CCA in its spec table), and up to 400 CCA or 480 CCA on the WEIZE battery. Consult your mower manual for the minimum rating your engine requires.
Can I use a lithium battery in a zero-turn mower?
Yes, if the battery is a 12.8-volt LiFePO4 pack built to replace Group U1 batteries and fits your mower tray. Follow manufacturer instructions, including the 60 degrees Celsius maximum temperature stated on the WEIZE listing.
How long does a zero-turn mower battery last?
Service life depends on battery chemistry and off-season storage. The MARXON listing claims 5 years using time and provides a 15-month warranty. The WEIZE bullets state a 5-year warranty (spec table lists 2 years). The Mighty Max lists a 1-year warranty, and the Cub Cadet lists 3 months.
More mowing guides
- Best Lawn Mower Battery (2026): 5 Top Picks Compared
- EGO Z6 Zero Turn Mower Review (2026): Pros, Cons and Who It’s For
- Spartan Mower Recall 2025 (SRT-XD, KGZ-XD): What Owners Should Know
- John Deere ZTrak Kawasaki Engine Recall: What Owners Should Know
- How Long Does It Take to Mow an Acre? Times by Mower Type
- Best Mower Blade Sharpener: 4 Picks for Riders and Large Lawns
- Best Commercial Zero-Turn Mower: 4 Picks for 5 to 10 Acres
- Best Zero-Turn Mower for 2 Acres: 3 Picks by Deck Size
- How to Fix Hydrostatic Drive on Riding Mower
- How to Check if Your Mower Is Recalled
Explore our zero-turn mower guides to narrow down choices by acreage, terrain, and power type.



